We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really small portion sizes”
Review of Wodka

Wodka
Ranked #160 of 609 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really small portion sizes”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The food was presented beautifully, and truly tasted divine! But expect to stop at McDonald's on your way home, because the portions are SMALL! For the price they charge, the portions need to be bigger! The beetroot & goat cheese salad was R45. The pasta, R85. A small plate of chips. R25. Even after that, my husband was still hungry. They aren't shy with the wine servings though! :) The service was a bit slow, and I took half an hour from the time we finished, to the time we actually paid - waiting for the bill & the change.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leetans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I always read the reviews on here and was a little skeptical but was stuck there for better part of day due to business. I had a breakfast which was eggs Benedict and it was quite enjoyable, coffee was average. Later on in afternoon returned to a light meal of was very tasty and the service was good. The menu is rather limited but what I watched fellow patrons eat looked very good. I asked for a special request on then poached fruit desert and had to wait a bit as it was before the 18:00 serving time for this item but it extremely good. The ambience is quite pleasing and with the doors open its rather pleasant, very European side street feel. I would lie to return and try a full dinner so will keep update when this is done.....my opinion give it a try if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely surprise!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

so whoever said... town was dead!! has never been to the extension by the Point, where you feel as though you're in a scene from 'Upper-East New York'... i just love this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trust the Trip Advisor Reviews – Shocker!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Three Cities Group advertises this hotel as: “Docklands Hotel is a fresh, superbly designed and a breath of fresh air in terms of design. It is an inviting place and full of energy. A meeting place for the young, and not so famous - the Canary Wharf of South Africa.” and the Wodka restaurant as “Dining: WODKA is a superb New York style bistro that boasts an interactive fusion menu by our award winning chef. There is nothing quite like this restaurant in the city. Food Style: Global Fusion. Seating Capacity: 80. Kitchen Hours: 07:00 - 22:30 Mon – Sun.”.

What is doesn’t advertise is the following:
- Waitresses who can hardly speak or understand English. Campari & soda = cranberry and soda. No Campari anyway.
- Only one rose wine on the menu which was out of stock (ten minutes to inform us of this).
- Ordered a sauvignon blanc and were presented with a shiraz – opened and without asking if it was the correct wine first. And exactly double the price.
- As the corkscrew did not work/was broken, it took at least ten minutes to open the bottle of wine when it (the incorrect one) was eventually found.
- Very limited lunchtime menu, a fact which is not mentioned on their website; perhaps six salads and as few main courses ("light meals"). The lamb hamburger dish was 'not available' (there was a business function on at the same time but these people were eating off a private buffet – only one other couple we saw had a hamburger). Instead, we ordered a calamari and prawn stir fry. Four prawns and, to all intents and purposes, no calamari.
- Tried to order a second bottle of the same Shiraz - none in stock. We eventually complained to the manager (name forgotten - no name badge “I have just come on duty”) and we were offered a complimentary, cheaper but different varietal (cab sauv) despite requesting another shiraz. Replacement wine glasses were tiny, cheap, white wine glasses which we refused.
- Service was very, very slow for a restaurant with, at most, four tables ordering a la carte. At least 30 minutes for two stir-fry dishes and two cold meat sandwiches.

Avoid!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZA_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We thought we were on Candid Camera!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Invited some friends for a special dinner at Wodka on Friday night.We arrived at the venue at 7.30pm and noted that there were 3 other tables occupied with diners.By the time we were served with our meal the other diners had left and I saw the staff carrying out tables & chairs-first impression was that they must be setting up a big table in the courtyard.This continued and by 8.45 we were the only table left in the vast space-the resturant was totally stripped of all furniture.When I called the Manager on duty enquiring about this he said that they were clearing the area as they were going to wash the floor!!!! This on a Friday night with patrons still having their meal - we were actually sure we were on Candid Camera as we could not believe what we were being told.
Can you imagine taking an important guest there and this happens-obviously the Manager on duty is clueless -maybe has had past experience in the Cleaning Industry.
Food presentaion was good but I will not be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wodka also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Wodka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing