We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother.....”
Review of Craft Trattoria - CLOSED

Craft Trattoria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dont bother.....”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment. What used to be a little gem has been turned into a complete waste of time and money.

The ambiance is still good with a lovely large feature pizza oven, nice bar and general decor BUT service can, at best be described as 'nonchalant'. Staff spent more time chatting outside than serving. When they did serve it was the bare minimum - just take the order.

There was no effort to inspire us on any particular meal so we shared a pizza. There was very little flavour and the base was tough and chewy. We didn't finish it.

We decided not to try anything else. On the way out, to our horror, we saw the man who hand made the pizza had a very grubby plaster on his finger!!!!

There was what appeared to be the manager drifting around but he wasn't terribly interested.

I will be very surprised if this place is still open after Feb 2014. Pity. It was a little gold mine not so long ago.....

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    4
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

After doing research on the internet for the top 10 restaurants in Kwazulu natal we decided to try this one. When we came to the restaurant the atmosphere was fantastic and I really liked the decor and the red lips at the entrance and the glass kitchen :). The negative side I will keep sweat and short.
Service was horrible!!!!!!!! Waited 25minutes for a drink!!!!! Food was quick but cold!!!!! There was even a piece of hair in my pasta!!!!! This was obviously the wrong choice :(((

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuanFouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun, lively, delicious”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great beer selection, great food, great atmosphere. Wait staff made great recommendations for our table of 14. Flatbreads, calamari. My fish soup was delicious, full of shrimp, clams, mussels and more. Rocket & goat cheese salad was impressive. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“JUST AWEFUL ON EVERY LEVEL”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We waited over 25 mins for our first drink to arrive. Out of a table of 4, we received one drink, then a few minutes later another, then 5 minutes later another??? SERIOUSLY??? The excuse was there was only one bar tender!! We talking beers here people, its not like it involves any making? You open a bottle for flips sake!!!!

The time before we where there, we ended up walking out as it took them 35 minutes to make a margarita ONLY to then come to us, after we complained where is our drinks, to tell us they had run out of mix????

We decided to give them another chance after we heard they had had a management change!!!

We waited and waited and waited for our food and when it did finally arrive it was VERY mediocre.. I ordered the Gorden Ramseys Mac and Cheese and if I tell you the lobster tail was so inedible, it was like chewing on a primary school pencil eraser!

HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE !!! The manager walked around cleaning tables and talking to people he knew, the rest of the tables where left completely unattended!

Sadly even with a management change this place is disappointing on every level!

A KFC would offer better service, better prices and above all else, better food ! :-(

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Durban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“No impressed with the food...toilets were filthy.”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

When a restaurant has a good atmosphere and good service its a terrible shame when the food is just not up to scratch. I had to send my Burger - yes my burger back twice before it was cooked well done - why can't a chef get that right - not too hard you'd have thought? You can't serve processed meat red - it has to be cooked as i requested. It was also shame for the waiter who was just as frustrated as i was to get it right. Come on chef...
We have tried Craft 3 times each with a fail....and that's a strike cos we ain't going back.
p.s. toilets were filthy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craft Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing