We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Treasure”
Review of Mesami Hotel

Mesami Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mesami Hotel
Ranked #74 of 250 Durban B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Treasure”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Mesami Hotel - I really did not know what to expect when I booked as so little was said on the net. What a surprise. The cleanliness really blew my breath away, bedding was clean, towels changed regularly. etc - other hotels in the area should take some tips. The rooms a wee bit small but is clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Break fast was more than adequate. Staff was very friendly. They do have room service and wifi. All shops, shopping malls, restuarants are at a walking distance.
Will definitely book again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shamin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location in Musgrave is nice & central, making getting around very easy. The rooms are simple but yet tastefully decorated with everything you need to make you comfortable & relaxed. The staff is excellent & catered to all our needs, especially at breakfast catering for our vegetarian option...Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SelvanMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, North-West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were in Durbs for the long weekend to meet up with a few friends. The location in Musgrave is quite central - getting around is about 10 mins from the major attractions. The staff are quite friendly and very accommodating. It is on the border of Berea, and although there was a party going on next door, it didn't really affect us. Will stay again.

Breakfast is repetitive, but it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Will stay here anytime ! Staff ads another star to this hotel. They are helpful and make you feel welcome. The beds are a bit on the short side for taller people and a nice touch would be a beverage pack in the room. Otherwise.........excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hermann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This hotel is new.. The owner is very friendly and courteous. The rooms are neatly done. Breakfast was awesome and location is perfect. This was our first trip to Durban (nov-2011), we went through a lot of websites and listed down at least 10 hotels / accomodations.. this hotel is way above and beyond the 10 that we saw.. it made our experience memorable especially since it was raining that day and the next day.. only positive things were our stay and the ushaka marine world.. thanks

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashishkgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at the hotel during December. The hotel is exceptionally clean. Breakfast was scrumptious. The room catered for our needs and it was value for money. The location was perfect us since the we had easy access to the freeway to the north and south coast. Enjoyed walking to mall nearby. Plenty of eating places within walking distance. Would not recommend walking at night. The staff was very accommodating and their service was excellent and friendly. The size of the shower was much larger than normal hotels (no complaints just a pleasure for a big size guy). Enjoyed the WIFI. The hotel was eager to accommodate us with any of our request. Their information board was helpful as to what was going on during our stay. Small boutique hotel with an intimate feeling. Enjoyed our stay and will return. Didnot mind that the hotel had no pool since Durban has the sea :-).

Room Tip: Their are rooms where families can book. 2 seperate rooms with a main door to lock both the rooms fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Recently booked our stay in Mesami hotel for one night cos we were attending a show at the Playhouse in Durban. Hotel is fairly new just about a year old, small and cosy (27 rooms); very neat and shiny. Complimentary breakfast simple and well-cooked, staff is very friendly and helpful. Our stay could have been excellent if only the hotel attends to fine details like: in our room we only had one pillow each, i'm not used to this in a three star hotel...ther should have been two pillows each in a double room...and why should we call reception to ask for this? Secondly, there should be additional or spare blankets in the room in case the guest needs to add on the thin duvet cover provided... there was nothing...and why should we ask for the obvious? Thirdly,a 3 star facility should provide coffee/tea amenities in the room. Why should we bring our own coffees at a beautiful place like this? Fourthly, in a hotel room a guest should be provided with an information brochure about the hotel sevices, a tv guide, a comment pad in case one needs to report something about the room. Room 209 for instance in which we slept under these conditions had a locker whose doors were not sliding smoothly but were getting stuck on the glide rail. If the hotel can attend to these fine but important details it would pass with flying details. I hope they will consider these suggestions and attract more guests...i would go to the hotel again provided my/our comfort is made complete

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thuli t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 43 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#156 of 250 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#8 of 250 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesami Hotel

Property: Mesami Hotel
Address: 28 Currie Road, Durban 4000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mesami Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary eco hotel is situated on Durban's Berea, its location is within walking distance of the upmarket Musgrave Centre and Durban's most trendy restaurants. Close to hospitals and tertiary institutions.We provide the best Accommodation at Affordable Rates to corporate business,sports teams,groups and holiday makers alike.On site free parking is available.We offer 27 tastefully decorated rooms,including paraplegic facilities with lift access to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mesami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing