We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarassing and Disappointed”
Review of Market

Market
Ranked #46 of 618 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Market is a world-class garden café/restaurant, situated in a quiet courtyard behind a classic 1930’s colonial building at the foot of Durban’s Berea in Marriott Road. Market serves simple quality cuisine using locally and/or organic sourced ingredients in a professional, unique, and caring environment. Market is also known for its selection of award winning South African wines, freshly squeezed fruit juices and coffee. Our fine dining dinner food specials change regularly and provide the perfect catalyst for any occasion, whether it be your first date or a birthday celebration. The courtyard has a central fountain surrounded by a a ring of Leopard trees, which provide all year mottled shade and its peaceful atmosphere. The outdoor furniture and tables are modeled around 18th century French garden furniture, adding to Market’s allure. The restaurant’s indoor section is more a modern minimalist while still providing the feeling of dining somewhere in Europe. Market is always available for big parties, private functions or weddings.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Embarassing and Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My booking was embarassingly and disappointingly messed up which would have been accepted had it not being further marred by the very poor service of the waiter, as I was hosting a baby shower @ the Market for a group of 10 ladies!! I finally managed to chat to the manager who sincerly apologised - so I hope it doesn't happen again, as I really love the ambience of the Market!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shuhana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    66
    19
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
durban
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable VERY bad experience !”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I will start by saying that I have been to Market many many times. It was at some point my favourite in Durban. However over the last year the food has become more and more disappointing and my last visit will be just that: the LAST!

The white wine was warm, not a good start! My husband ordered a steak insisting on "rare", it arrived overcooked. They agreed to redo, 10 min later he was informed there was no more steak. He ordered salmon, 5 min later he was informed salmon was no more... and we had booked for an early diner 7.30pm! He finally chose a starter (by that time we had finished eating) and to add insult to injury, found a hair in his salad!
When the bill arrived, no apologies, no freebies. In fact my salmon was listed with wasabi mash but had baby potatoes instead. The waiter offered to get me wasabi mash and guess what ? The extra portion was added to the bill!

We asked to talk to the owner and were told he wasn't there. Andre was there! and my husband went to see him. We were branded as looking for trouble, not wanting to pay the bill, arriving late with no reservation so what can we expect ?Oh and the hair was in fact a fiber from the lettuce.

You don't believe so many wrongs could happen in one evening? Trust me they did and I will now spread the word and boycott Market! Pity it used to be a fabulous place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tamessama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My very Best in Durban!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Such an awesome experience , every time, we do it as often as possible. From the setting, to the delicious food to the top quality service. This is one place in Durban you really "must" not miss, a real TREAT.
Just love it xxxx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 250765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious ambience and great food”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I loved Market. From the food (tasty) to the design (tasteful) everything was great. Don't miss it when you visit Durban!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anhalverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We absolutely fell in love with this place. Nothing beats a meal and a bottle of wine on a Saturday afternoon with a loved one under the trees at Market.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janine-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing