We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Friendly ”

Durban Backpackers - On the Beach
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Durban Backpackers - On the Beach
Ranked #19 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap & Friendly ”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night after arriving at King Shaka Intl from long haul flight. "Elvis" who checked us in was very efficient and friendly. Room was basic but comfortable although I can appreciate it could be rather hot as only a small window for ventilation if you don't want to sleep with the shared balcony door open. Loved the large double bath and shower. Close to Airport, waking distance to restaurant and bars and literally 10m from the beach! Pool was nice and clean too.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed just one night in the dormitory and was unfortunately robbed and had my life threatened at knife point in my bed at 5am. Whilst I don't blame the owner for there being thieves in the area his rude manner and lack of security are unacceptable.

The hostel clearly has poor security compared to all surrounding properties (rusty electric fence, damaged front gate, no burglar bars, and several windows that it is not possible to close!) and the thieves gained access via the balcony doors which I could not physically close as the handle was missing and doors were stiff. These were apparently left open as the fan in the room was broken. This is not acceptable security in an urban area such as Durban.

The owner was initially apologetic, but then very rude to the police and my room mate. He has subsequently sent me a very rude and upsetting email after I informed baz bus (backpacker bus I arrived on) of the incident. I hope that he improves security to avoid another incident such as this, where something worse than a robbery could occur.

Please, please check the security before staying here. Whilst the hostel cannot be held responsible for the high crime rate in the area, it should have adequate security to protect its guests.

The only positive comment I can make is that the room was clean and it is quite close to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid the dormitory with the balcony doors (these were not secure when I stayed there)! Check that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosiestewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfib, General Manager at Durban Backpackers - On the Beach, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
The security at Durban Backpackers is more than adequate. The property is surrounded by an eight foot wall/fence. There is a member of staff on the property 24 hours a day and he has a panic button to call armed security if required.

Due to the unfortunate incident last week, we now employ a night watchman as well.

All the exterior doors of the rooms are lockable; the sliding doors with nights latches and the wooden doors with barrel bolts.

Our security is only as good as the people who implement it. By your own admission, you noticed the balcony door was open when we checked you in, this was the point of entry for the thieves that burgled you, What prevented you from locking it ? It is locakble with barrel bolts at the top and bottom.

Your reasons for sleeping with the door open due to excessive heat are unfounded, we are in the middle of winter with night time temps of 12 C, and there are 2 stand alone fans in the room if required.

You failed to secure your room on check in,( in a country like SA which has one of the highest crime rates in the world this is rather foolish). If you choose to ignore the security measures made available to you, we can hardly be held accountable.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed upstairs with two of us in a double bed and the other in a single. The room was clean and nice if not shiny and new. There was a huge bathtub and a deck with patio glass doors that had an unbeatable view of the Ocean, especially at sunrise. This place is out from the city center but was great since we had a rental car, we were a close drive to Gateway Mall and went into the city for a day too. It was nice to have our own transport to go into the city, but it was nice to stay in a nicer neighborhood with such proximity to the ocean. Breakfast was good, though not hot. The swimming pool was chilly and we didn't use the communal kitchen. The service was also good and the pets were friendly too, it was much better than Smith's Cottage where we had previously had a less than perfect experience. Great place to stay if you need to go to or from the airport, have your own transport and don't want to be in the heart of the city. It was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharolinLesotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we stayed just one night, rooms were a bit used, but i would say standard for B&B. Helpfull staff. Beach is just 400m away, if you have room upstairs, you can see it from windows. There is well stocked kitchen, and some sitting room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neffik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chetwynd, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I had a great two-night stay here in March! The shuttle from the airport (70 rand) delivered me to the door. My reservation over the phone could not be found but no worries as they had ample space in the four-bed dorms. Bedding is fresh, dorms are ensuite, and there's a well-stocked kitchen and small sitting room with TV in the same building.

It is outside Durban proper but this was part of the attraction for me. The beach is literally 30 meters across the street and a two malls are within walking distance. One staff member even escorted four of us single traveler gals (we met over breakfast) into the city on the public mini-buses and arranged for his friend to pick us up later.

Breakfast was included in the price and it's a good spread with muesli, fruits, teas, coffees, yogurt and ample hilarious conversations to join in on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheri_connolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This B&B is a typical seaside holiday home - tiles floors, laid back attitude and lots of back packers. Facilities are standard for most B&Bs and the atmosphere is restful and laid back. The cats and dog are all friendly which is great when you miss your own animals. The view of the beach from the rooms is great - even downstairs. There are plenty of nearby restaurants for dinner. All in all, most pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Ive stayed at On the Beach on two occasions - once in thier dorms and most recently in a triple share, sea facing room. The backpacker experience here was great - their dorms are small, but perfect for a group of friends travelling together. The kitchen was well allocated and thier friendly staff made it very easy for us to braai (barbeque). The fact that breakfast was included in thier rate was also a bonus. My most recent experience was rather average. I found the room to be sufficiently appointed - with a very spacious bathroom. Be warned though - if staying in room 6 - that the bathroom window opens directly into a passage way. You might have an audience to your ablutions! I was disappointed that breakfast was only served until 10, especially as it was a weekend. However, I do think that thier value for view, makes On the Beach worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
6.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 43 in Durban
87 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,784 reviews
5.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
5.6 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
6.7 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 77 in Durban
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durban Backpackers - On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durban Backpackers - On the Beach

Property: Durban Backpackers - On the Beach
Address: 17 The Promenade | Glenashley, Durban 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Durban Backpackers - On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing