We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice food and atmosphere”

Kai Thai Restaurant
Ranked #232 of 604 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,351 reviews
898 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
“very nice food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

we were 4 people, and ordered different dishes and shared , so we can really say that food is very good. tables are at the right distance so nice for a quiet evening with friends

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    9
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average at best.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Service was acceptable, crispy pork was disappointing, and the Pad Thai was oily. More typical of the Chinese restaurant dishes you would find all over South Africa.

Good for variety at Sun Coast, but there are definitely better Thai options in Durban.

Helpful?
Thank Christiaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A BIG thumbs down!!!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A family group of six went to dinner the other night - OMG what a disaster, firstly the waitor brings my Tom Yong Goon soup with his thumb inbedded in the soup up to his knuckle! But he didn't think this was an issue. Well back to the kitchen it went and I refused a replacement becuase I didn't trust what would be done to the next serving. Then one of the party who terribly allergic to marrows asked that the marrow be left out of her dish - low and behold along comes the plate with the offending ingredient. When challenged the waitress said it wasn't marrow but courgette!!!!

It was like a Leon Schuster movie!

Avoid like the plague!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level Contributor
367 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Thai Heaven”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is the place is you want a Thai Food Fix.

You will find it at the top of the Escalator in Sun Coast Casino Complex and the entrance is to the right of Havana Grill.

Whatever you do try to avoid being tempted by all the eating places on the ground floor as although no doubt O.K. this is the place to go unless you opt for Havana Grill next door.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for our group”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had dinner there while hosting a large group and the service was great, the waiters friendly, the food tasty and everyone was very kind and flexible. It was a perfect venue for our big group.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephanieMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai Thai Restaurant also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Kai Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing