We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Charmoy Estate Guest House
Ranked #31 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent in all ways”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

De Charomoy is the perfect getaway. Our stay at your guesthouse was wonderful and heart warming. The suites are beautiful yet cosy. Breathtaking garden views and a fantastic lounge/bar area all compliments your stay package. And least but not last, we loved the friendly welcome by de Charmoy staff. We will definitely recommend a stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
43
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

i would like to say that i really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anybody seeking time away from the busy city life. we felt so relaxed and the service was really great and the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A lovely setting and gardens ideally located a few minutes away from Durban's King Shaka airport. However the room was rather dark and the bathroom was essentially part of the entrance. Comfortable enough, but some of the fittings are rather tired and not all the electric points worked. While the reception staff were friendly and helpful, it all seemed a little chaotic when I arrived and it was difficult to find a parking space that didn't block other vehicles or entrances to buildings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bichwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The personnel were very unfriendly, not customer-oriented, inefficient and very slow. The room was not clean, hairs everywhere. The cupboard (meant for clothes) was used as a kitchenette: the water boiler, tea and coffee were in it. The pool wasn't clean and the space around it looked awful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maarten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Food and staff were really great.Room was well appointed.One point is that the cleaning staff is not doing a good job and Management is not holding them accountable. Eg Bathroom and shower tiles need to be scrubbed and not just wiped down. Headboard had lots of dust.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked the Charmoy Estate for one night stopover to the airport, but we were sorry to leave after one night. The complex is fantastic, very nice rooms with lovely beds, clean and neat bathrooms and a lovely wide area were the rooms are situated. The communal area is also very inspiring and lovely decorated. The owners take pride in offering luxury.

We haven't experienced any of the surroundings, so we can't share any tips for sightseeing but for a nights rest on your way to the airport, this really is a great solution. You can make reservations for dinner and breakfast in the morning (or take-away breakfast if your plane is leaving early)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine L, General Manager at De Charmoy Estate Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments. All the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This BnB was extremely convenient for our needs as we arrived in the evening into King Shaka airport and were not first heading to Durban but to Thula Thula game lodge to the north. It is extremely close to the airport and easy to find - and they will collect you if you are not self-driving. Our party of six stayed in three comfortable rooms for the night. Breakfast was very nice(best muffins!) and the estate is on an attractive property with creatures dotted about in pens - not so much of the African type but pets like rabbits, turkeys, geese, guinea pigs, a huge tortoise - didn't want to know what they do with them all but very cute all the same! Highly recommended if you need a convenient airport stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine L, General Manager at De Charmoy Estate Guest House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Just to set your mind at ease. We enjoy our animals running around and they are part of the family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
15.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,430 reviews
12.0 mi away
Riverside de Charmoy Estate Guest House
10.8 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#160 of 255 in Durban
16 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#77 of 255 in Durban
33 reviews
10.7 mi away
Africa Regent Guest House
Africa Regent Guest House
#39 of 255 in Durban
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Charmoy Estate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Charmoy Estate Guest House

Property: De Charmoy Estate Guest House
Address: 1 Robert Armstrong Road, Canelands | Canelands, Durban 4339, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Charmoy Estate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your De Charmoy Estate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing