We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Charmoy Estate Guest House
Ranked #29 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Monterossa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed overnight after a 14 hour flight so the efficient airport pick up and king size bed were most welcome. Our room was not large but it was comfortable and easily satisfied our needs. We were able to get a simple but tasty evening meal. Next morning we explored the beautiful grounds after a relaxing and plentiful breakfast of bacon, eggs etc and/or cereals, toast, fruit, muffins. Kids would enjoy the white rabbits and other animals ( big kids too). We were made welcome to sit in comfort and wait for our early afternoon pick up. Good value for money and, yes, we would happily go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
43
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked this GH for 1 night only as we had to take a very early domestic flight out of King Shaka Apt the next day. The setting of the GH is beautiful; immaculate garden & grounds. Newly refurbished rooms (ours was anyway!). A nice bar & dining area. We had dinner in the evening at the big table and the quality of food was excellent.
The airport is an easy 10 minute drive away.
I can absolutely recommend both for stopover purposes (Apt) as for longer stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked to stay here recently on an overnight stop in Durban, mainly because it's so close to the airport. However, it exceeded our expectations in every way. The grounds are superb - a little tropical paradise - and we loved the colonial style, slightly bohemian, grandeur of the old part of the estate where our room was. We arrived hot, sticky and dusty from six nights in a game reserve and headed straight for one of the two pools, both set in beautiful surroundings.

We had booked dinner in advance and, although it is usually served at an earlier hour than we wanted, the hosts were very happy to accommodate us. It was lovely to stroll down through the grounds in the evening to the large dining room, which also has an honesty bar and a lounge corner with deep leather sofas. We found seeing the Winter Olympics on a large projection screen on one wall slightly surreal on a hot Durban night but all part of the experience! There was a choice of three main meals - all home-style cooking - plus a starter, several side dishes and a pudding, all for a very reasonable price.

It was equally lovely to wake-up the next morning with beautiful views from the windows and to enjoy our early morning tea and coffee on our own little terrace, before having our breakfast cooked to order back in the dining room. We then took advantage of their transfer service to travel the five minutes to the airport. The owners were extremely warm and welcoming and all the staff were polite and attentive. We'll definitely be back next time we're in South Africa and will stay for two nights next time!

Room Tip: I would definitely request a room in the converted old farmhouse again. However, if you prefer a mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Signitsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

De Charomoy is the perfect getaway. Our stay at your guesthouse was wonderful and heart warming. The suites are beautiful yet cosy. Breathtaking garden views and a fantastic lounge/bar area all compliments your stay package. And least but not last, we loved the friendly welcome by de Charmoy staff. We will definitely recommend a stay at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

i would like to say that i really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to anybody seeking time away from the busy city life. we felt so relaxed and the service was really great and the staff was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A lovely setting and gardens ideally located a few minutes away from Durban's King Shaka airport. However the room was rather dark and the bathroom was essentially part of the entrance. Comfortable enough, but some of the fittings are rather tired and not all the electric points worked. While the reception staff were friendly and helpful, it all seemed a little chaotic when I arrived and it was difficult to find a parking space that didn't block other vehicles or entrances to buildings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bichwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The personnel were very unfriendly, not customer-oriented, inefficient and very slow. The room was not clean, hairs everywhere. The cupboard (meant for clothes) was used as a kitchenette: the water boiler, tea and coffee were in it. The pool wasn't clean and the space around it looked awful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maarten2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
15.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,394 reviews
13.3 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#12 of 43 in Durban
102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
16.4 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Westville
236 reviews
9.5 mi away
Khanya Kude
Khanya Kude
#16 of 255 in Durban
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Charmoy Estate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Charmoy Estate Guest House

Property: De Charmoy Estate Guest House
Address: 1 Robert Armstrong Road, Canelands | Canelands, Durban 4339, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Charmoy Estate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Charmoy Estate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing