We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Charmoy Estate Guest House
Ranked #27 of 250 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
“Waiters”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The reason we have put very good is because the only fault was the waiters at breakfast did not keep a look out for, the coffee machine running out of water, cups and saucers running out, not bring the food all at once eg. we received our hot breakfast and had to ask for the toast on two occasions.
Besides the above everything was excellent. We had a very enjoyable stay.
The quality and standard was above our expectation. We recommend to everyone to go to De Charmoy Estate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
43
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was not sure how this trip would turn out,and all I can say is I am happy I did It. What a pleasant surprise....Lovely place friendly staff and all round relaxing holiday...Thanks to De Charmoy and there staff!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It is genuinely around 5 minutes from the airport. We notified them of a late check in and when we arrived they were ready and waiting, check in was effortless. Staff were friendly and professional. At 8:00Pm we asked for an iron and they offered to iron the items for us. At 8:00Am the next morning our items were ironed. At a moments notice we asked to check out one day early to catch an earlier flight. Check out took less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked the last 2 double beds for 1 night the evening before. The room was beautifully decorated and the staff was very pleasant I would stay there again if and when I am in Durban SA area. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I received a warm welcome at De Charmoy especially because having been lost by 25 km (as a result of our untrustworthy GPS)one of the owners was able to pick us up and end our misery. Our room was very neat and comfortable and the breakfast matched the beautiful setting. The ambience of the whole venue was as charming as the name suggests. For the price we paid we got value for money and were certainly pleased with everything and the friendly service. We felt like we were part of the family and the enjoyed even the company of the four legged extended family members. This guest house gets a 5/5 from us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were flying from King Shaka Airport early the following morning. We were afforded exceptional hospitality with attentive staff and wonderful food. A gem so close to the airport. The Sherwins

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterossa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed overnight after a 14 hour flight so the efficient airport pick up and king size bed were most welcome. Our room was not large but it was comfortable and easily satisfied our needs. We were able to get a simple but tasty evening meal. Next morning we explored the beautiful grounds after a relaxing and plentiful breakfast of bacon, eggs etc and/or cereals, toast, fruit, muffins. Kids would enjoy the white rabbits and other animals ( big kids too). We were made welcome to sit in comfort and wait for our early afternoon pick up. Good value for money and, yes, we would happily go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
13.3 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#12 of 43 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eden Rose Manor
Eden Rose Manor
#1 of 1 in La Mercy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.8 mi away
La-Peng Guesthouse
La-Peng Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in La Mercy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Airport Beach Backpackers
Airport Beach Backpackers
#1 of 1 in Westbrook Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
22.2 mi away
Wellvale Private River Resort
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Venti Dell'Est
#1 of 1 in Westbrook Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Charmoy Estate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Charmoy Estate Guest House

Property: De Charmoy Estate Guest House
Address: 1 Robert Armstrong Road, Canelands | Canelands, Durban 4339, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Charmoy Estate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Charmoy Estate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing