We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience, ok food”
Review of Atasca

Atasca
Ranked #27 of 618 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Naturally Portuguese cuisine varies from region to region, but fresh fish and shellfish are found on virtually every menu. The national dish is “Bacalhau”- dried, salted cod. The Portuguese has been obsessed with it since the early 16th century, when their fishing boats reached Newfoundland. The sailors salted and sun-dried their catch to make it last the long journey home, and today there are said to be 365 different ways of preparing it, one for each day of the year. The Portuguese word “tasca” describes quaint cafes, bistros or tavernas. These small, well known restaurants are delightful places to eat. Good food is always prepared with love and consummate skill, using the freshest ingredients available. If the quality of some ingredients are not up to standard, they will not be served. At a tasca we prepare each meal from order, so we ask you to be patient and to relax and enjoy your stay with us the Portuguese way… saude !
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice ambience, ok food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The atmosphere was lovely and intimate. The food was good but I've had better and was a bit disappointed with the flavours especially after all the good things i have heard about this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful evening!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It was our first time eating Portuguese food, but what a treat. Our food was delicious, perfectly presented and cooked just as we had requested. The staff were friendly and helpful when making a selection. The restaurant was full even on a Thursday evening which shows its popularity. We enjoyed a great evening at Atasca.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy_Bee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This restaurant underwent a refurbishment in December 2013 and is now called Atasca (a bit confusing when looking for it). It is smart and had a very good ambience. The staff were very welcoming and professional. You know it is likely to be good when you see how full it is- on the Tuesday evening we went there were no spare tables. Our waitress was excellent - attentive and knowledgeable. We had an excellent wine and one of the best steaks I have ever had. The desserts all looked good - we had crème brules which were delicious. Overall a very good night and one of our best meals in South Africa. And all at an amazingly good price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lost the charm”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated, one would not be wrong in thinking that you've entered a swanky beach bar in Cape Town.... But for me, it takes away the promise of Portuguese charm and authentic cuisine. We were a large table, with mainly the chicken ordered. All the meals came timeously and all correct. Quite a feat in my book. Personally, I found the chicken dry and overcooked. The side dishes, I.e boiled potatoes, rice, salad and vegetables were all delicious. The service was outstanding. For me, it lacks the warmth of old.

Helpful?
1 Thank gdmm75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A friend from Cape Town came to visit and wanted great food and an environment where we could catch up. Gaby's came to mind and we were once again impressed. Impressed with the food, the service and the atmosphere. Our waitress looked after us like royalty. I certainly recommend Gaby's!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atasca also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Atasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing