We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atasca

Atasca
Ranked #24 of 594 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This restaurant was the best restaurant in our 3 weeks in South Africa and even in 2 weeks in France.
The service was exceptional, the food was awesome, the ambiance was superb, I am unable to praise the restaurant enough.
I ate Bife De Portugesa and my wife had Espetada De Galinha the presentation of my wife's food was mind boggling of all the times we didn't have a camera, it was our last evening so unable to return on this trip. My Steak was cooked to perfection and the service as I've already stated was wonderful. If you fail in not going to the restaurant you will not have eaten at the very best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“New is not always better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

When it was Gabys and had Gaby's personal attention we were regulars. Now it seems to have been franchised and it has lost that attention to detail. Let us make no bones about franchising, that is where the money is with less effort from the restauranteur. However the mosaic pillars and other adorments verge on 'bling'. However the food is still good and worth a visit. We'll be back but only as a second option. Pity.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“In peri-peri territory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This review Appeared in The Mercury on May 16

The old Gaby’s Tasca in Durban North has recently has something of a makeover. It’s now simply called Atasca, although Gaby Fernandes still has a hand in the business.
It’s a smart spot, livened up with a bar at the front that offers a good and reasonably priced pub grub. While the menu boasts of Prince Henry the Navigator bringing back tomatoes and chillis from the New World and their influence on Portuguese cooking. So fasten you’re seat belts, we’re in peri-peri territory.
Starters might include calamari tubes, with garlic, or peri-peri; chicken gizzards, yes with more garlic or peri-peri; chourico served traditionally or in a mild peri-peri sauce; or trinchado, that’s cubed rump going the peri-peri route. For those who want to lose the hot stuff, there are snails in gorgonzola and prawn tails in a creamy garlic sauce.
I opted for the squid heads, lightly dusted in flour and deep-fried, and with, you guessed it, peri-peri. These were delightfully crisp tasty morsels with a good kick in the tail. Norman’s chicken livers – in a creamy peri-peri - were less exciting. The sauce was flavouful, but the livers had spent too long in the pan.
Naturally, seafood features strongly. There are various ways with bacalhau, the salted Portuguese cod. It’s roasted with peppers or flaked with onions, potatoes and, believe it or not, scrambled eggs. Calamari, kingklip, sole and prawns make an appearance, and can be combined in a number of platters. Crab in a mild coconut curry looks interesting, although it doesn’t come cheap.
A friend vouches for the flame grilled peri-peri chicken, which can be paired with seafood. Fillet, rump and espetada complete the picture. And for those who like it, there’s rump the traditional way – topped with fried egg.
Norman opted for the deboned oxtail casserole served on tagliatelle, which was an enjoyable lunchtime dish. I settled on Arozz De Marisco, a traditional saucy seafood rice dish. I imagined a Portuguese take on paella, but sadly this lacked bite. It was saucy in terms of cream, rather than spice. The fish had that frozen flavour and the prawns were cooked to a mush. I think it’s best to stick to good old peri-peri.
Desserts can’t leave ice-cream and chocolate sauce behind, or vanilla custard with caramelised sugar – read crème brulee. I eyed a traditional Portuguese meringue soufflé pudding served with custard. I was warned it was rather unusual – meringue soaked in caramel and baked. And unusual it was. It was served cold and had the texture of bread and butter pudding, but it wasn’t too sweet and I enjoyed it. Norman gave the chocolate mousse the thumbs up, although it could have been darker and richer for me.
Service was very slick, the food out promptly.
We finished up with good espressos.

Atasca
Adelaide Tambo (Kensington) Drive, Durban North
Tel: 031 563 2603
Starters: R35-R65; Mains: R70 to R175; Desserts R25 to R45. Kids menu R25-R45

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_Chemaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
1,322 reviews
874 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“after renovation the decor is really kitsch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

nothing particularly new food standard the same but now you really feel you are in a disney fake mediterranean trattoria

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice ambience, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The atmosphere was lovely and intimate. The food was good but I've had better and was a bit disappointed with the flavours especially after all the good things i have heard about this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atasca also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Atasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing