We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attraction!”

1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$76.37*
and up
Full-Day Durban City Tour
More Info
US$114.94*
and up
Durban City Highlights Tour Including Valley of a 1000 Hills from Durban
More Info
US$76.37*
and up
Phezulu Cultural Village and Reptile Park Tour from Durban
Ranked #4 of 72 Tours in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1st Zulu Safaris is a tour operation based in Durban South Africa. We specialize in Daily & Overnight tours in KwaZulu Natal and South Africa. Our involvement in the Tourism Industry started from 1989. Our main services include Tours and Transfers. Our offices are located at the uShaka Marine World and at the Tropicana hotel. Our tours which range from daily to overnight, highlight the cultural and natural attractions of KwaZulu Natal and the rest of South Africa.
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We went to St. Lucia Wetland Park and the Hluhluwe Imfolozi Game Reserve on a full day trip, it was amazing. It cost about $230 US dollars and it really worths every penny.
Our guide Lloyd was really friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this attraction when you're in Durban.

Thank R2D2_MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review our tours.
It is great to hear that Lloyd is giving great service.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

My experience with 1st Zulu Safaris couldn't have been better. It offered a varied and eye-opening perspective on the many delights of South Africa. The Sani Pass trip included several interesting stops along the way and at the summit, including a visit to a Basotho home on the Lesotho side. I was the sole passenger on this trip, and my guide Sotiris went out of his way to offer insight into the culture and landscape. The boat excursion along St. Lucia estuary had hippos aplenty., and the game-spotting safari around Hluhluwe-iMfolozi Park was enjoyable. In all it was just great -- highly recommended.

Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hello Frank

Thank you for the lovely review. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoy our tours.

Good luck with your future travels.

Kindest Regards
Christo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to South Africa to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We really wanted to go on a day safari and chose 1st Zulu Safaris first because it was listed in our resort directory and second because of the other positive reviews on TripAdvisor.
We chose the safari to Hluhluwe with side excursion to Saint Lucia Wetlands. The add on was priced very well with the day safari.
Our tour guide, Lloyd, picked us up promptly.. In fact early... At 6:30 AM at our resort. We then drove to Saint Lucia. This is a little over 3 hours. On the way we stopped at what others referred to as a garage. Being from US and driving on a toll road this was like a service area. This allowed us a few minutes break for food, drinks and restroom. Once we arrived in Saint Lucia we boarded a boat for our hippo and crocodile excursion. This was 2 hours. It was suggested we take a jacket and hat. Both were needed even though it was going to be a very warm winter day.
The guides were very knowledgeable and eager to answer questions.
Next we boarded the van again to go to Hluhluwe. It was now lunch time. Our group wanted more time in the reserve so we agreed take away food was preferred.
It's about 2 hours to Hluhluwe. Once there we had opportunity to grab drinks and take a quick break. We then headed out into the park. Lloyd was knowledgeable about the park and the animals. He was also very good at pointing out animals. When we found animals he would stop, back up, let us take pictures and enjoy watching the serenity of the animals. Our day was marred a little by a fire from outside the reserve that made its way in the night before. Lloyd was much more patient than us and continued to search for animals. We ended up seeing 3 of Big 5.
Half way through the safari we stopped at Hill Top camp and had a break and the ability to shop.
Once we left the reserve we drove back to Durban and on way stopped at same garage or service area.
The tour takes credit cards but you must go into their office, you can pay cash to your tour guide the day of your tour. We had several questions by email and they were answered promptly.
My husband and I both recommend this tour company. Lloyd even made arrangements to drive us and another lady to Victoria Market on the following afternoon.

Thank gabahatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for the lovely review. Long reviews like these make the difference.
Im happy to hear that your tour with Lloyd went so well.

All the best for your future travels.

Kindest Regards
Christo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was excited at the prospect of seeing a part of Durban (South Africa), my home town. I departed off with a Scottish teacher like myself to see everything from the Big Five to Birds of prey. I was amazed to see what my province had to offer. The trip was made extra special by the outstanding service 1st Zulu Safari provided.

Thank ZubaidaAbrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Hello Zubaida

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its highly appreciated.
I hope you are well.

Thanks again

Christo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A remarkably informative and fun experience for adults and kids. Great service and many activities to explore. We made amazing memories and couldn't have fulfilled our goals on this safari onb our own. The guidance and adventure-value was perfect.

Thank Marydurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Dear Mary

Thank you for the lovely review and for taking time to write it. It was lovely to see you again.
Visit again soon!

Kindest Regards
Christo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing