We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time Back for Easter 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“3rd Time Back for Easter 2013”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

It was was our 3rd time back at the Garden Court South Beach hotel and I must say that my family and myself enjoyed our stay once again. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfasts in the morning is simply out of this world, my kids love "Sunny" the porter always helpful. And yes, we will be back. The Hotel is currently being painted but this did not affect our holiday at all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear MarcoDavids

Many, many thanks, for allowing us to become a part of your families special holidays. We are really glad that the painting did not intrude on your stay at all; and we look forward to showing off our nicely refurbished building to you, on your next stay.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    349
    228
    85
    73
See reviews for
461
235
51
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had booked into the Garden Court South Beach hotel again as we recieve the best service there. The staff are excellent friendly and helpfull. The breakfast is still as good as it was the first time I went there and the rooms are clean. I will always go back there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Rudi3900

YAY!! We are so excited to read this great review. Thanks for taking the time to make this post. We are always here for you, waiting to welcome you back. Garden Court South Beach - YOUR family in Durban.

Best wishes
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The cheapest of the Tsogo Sun hotels on the beach front offers value for money. The inclusive breakfast spread is good, and central to attractions such as Ushaka. The porters although paid, happen to charge the service to your room account as well. and should be addressed by management. The hotel is currently being renovated which will make it even better, provided the prices are not hiked as well.

Room Tip: Sea facing is ideal. The few city facing rooms, especially on the lower floors, can be noisy due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Mr Riempie

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please be assured that we have addressed the issue of the porterage charges as they should not have taken money from you, and also posted onto your account. We are distressed that this happened and in no way condone this. Should you ever again encounter any account discrepancies which the cashier does not solve, please ask for me or one of my management team and we will take immediate corrective action.

We really appreciate your choice of Garden Court South Beach and trust that you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Not 5 star luxury but good value for money with clean facilities and excellent location across the road from the beach. There are two other Garden Court hotels further up north in the same road but you will pay a lot more. Food in neighbouring Mustard Grill restaurant is good as well so you need not leave the premises as there is direct access to restaurant. Breakfast is as good as any other 4 or 5 star hotel. Friendly staff to assist with your needs.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank djfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear djfg

We are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering, we must admit that we are quite proud of our buffet. We are also pleased to note that our team was helpful, our aim is that you should have great memories of Garden Court South Beach at all times.

Thank you for choosing Garden Court South Beach, and for taking time to post this review. Please call again soon.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

A well established hotel in the Garden Court chain. It is excellently located on the Durban beach front. You will have a 180 degree view over the ocean and beach front from the harbour to the right and Umhlanga to the left. If you awake early enough round 05:00 in Summer you can enjoy the bright rays of the sunshine into the room, as Durban faces to the East. The informal trading kiosks are right across the street and nice to browse there for Durban memorabilia. The breakfast buffet is delicious !! The room service is not expensive. Staff are helpful and friendly. Checking out service is quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with an ocean view at an extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Christien H

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We love the fact that you loved your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sunny regards
Amar and the GC South Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Garden Court has the most AMAZING staff. Always ready to help you with a smile on their faces. The breakfast is delicious. A wide variety to choose from and always served fresh.
The view of the ocean is wonderful and visible from every part of the hotel.
Their beach towel service is a great idea and quite helpful for people who are staying there for a long time.

Room Tip: The higher you are, you get to see more of the ocean. Also, the lift doesn't pass by your room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifi_Mothei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear missZombo

WOW; thanks for the great review and the fantastic photographs which you have posted. You have made the team's day by being so kind and thoughtful, and posting about Garden Court South Beach.

Please hurry back, we look forward to having you to stay soon.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The hotel needs renovation (acctually it started) and there were wi-fi problems but the locatuon - right on the beach (ask for ocean view) is fantastic The staff was nice and helpful. . The rooms are standard, but clean. Breakfest was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uzico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear uzico

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Yes, the renovation has started and we are so excited by it. The team is really sorry to hear that you had connectivity problems - this is being raised with our IT specialists to ensure good connectivity going forward. We hope you will always choose us as your home away from home when you are in our wonderful country.

Once again, thank you for posting, and thank you so much for choosing Garden Court South Beach.

Kind regards and very warm wishes
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Property: Garden Court South Beach
Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing