We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Served its purpose well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Served its purpose well”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Chose the hotel because of its proximity to the start of a large sporting event, not anything to do with it's beachfront location (or the numerous very dodgy bars in walking distance).
The hotel is a bit dated and the room felt a little tired, however the room was clean and gave us everything we needed. Service was great, all the staff we interacted with were friendly & very helpful. Judging from the signs and the noise on the Saturday afternoon, the hotel is undergoing some renovations which might lead to updated rooms in the near future.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a sea view, try be higher than the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear NickRSA

Thank you so much for choosing Garden Court South Beach. We really hope that we will always be your hotel of choice in Durban. Yes, you are quite right, we are doing some exciting refurbishments and I'm sure you will be pleasantly surprised upon your return.

We look forward to having you back.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    326
    223
    79
    70
See reviews for
434
215
49
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed one night at the Garden Court South Beach along Durban's waterfront. I've stayed in this area before but this was the first time at this particular hotel. It just so happened to be the very night of the Nedbank finals in Durban in which the Kaizer Chiefs were the big winners, so the city was in PARTY MODE. And that's okay, as I am a fan as well, but it was busy and noisy. Arrived at the hotel and the front desk said their parking structure was sold out so it was a challenge driving around finding a place to park. Front desk service was just okay and breakfast was included but only okay as well. Room was basic but comfortable and the sunrise with a sea-facing room was stunning. So overall, only an average stay at best. I chalked it up mainly to it being so busy with all of the fans but probably won't go back when I am Durban again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logansrun98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear logansrun98

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip, and I really hope that you will reconsider and choose us again on your next stay.

The hotel is undergoing some exciting refurbishments, and we are also offering all guests free capped internet daily. We will be offering all of our team challenging and motivating training and development interventions, so that we can all work togeather to lift our game.

Thank you so much for your support, and for taking the time to share this feedback.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2013

other than very average service levels at frontofhouse this hotel offers excellent value at every level. rooms are clean and breakfasts are consistently ftesh and.substantial.situation especially for beach access is incomparable

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lieslanher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear lieslanher

We are so glad that you enjoyed the beach access - it is very beautiful and we are so proud of our location, and so happy when our guests enjoy it !

Our front of house team are brainstorming for ways to improve on their service offering so that we can improve in this area. One great addition coming up is our free wifi service of 350 mb per day.

Thank you so much for staying with us and for reviewing us here on Trip Advisor, please visit again soon.

Kind regards
Amar and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at Garden Court South Beach for the second year now during Indaba and again had an enjoyable stay. The staff is friendly and very helpful and the rooms are what you would expect for a Garden Court. Unfortunately for me I had a room on the second floor and had no view of the Durban beachfront. Bummer. The hotel is nicely situated to get around Durban from, just a pity the area immediately behind it isn't that nice anymore. Breakfast has a good variety but I missed my pancakes on my last morning. Looking forward to stay again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up for a fantastic view of the beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Firefly Africa

It's great to see another review from yourself - many thanks from the whole team! Our breakfast room upgrade and refurbishment is almost finished and we look forward to your reaction to it - we are sure you are going to enjoy it!!

Safe travels, and please come back soon.

Kind regards
Amar and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is the 4th year we've used this hotel as residence during the annual tourism Indaba. It is centrally located, offers good value for money and great service. The rooms are comfortable and immaculately kept. I am excited to learn that Tsogo Sun Hotels will offer complimentary wifi in their rooms from 1 June-fantastic!
The hotel offers a great breakfast selection, but I did find the dining room a bit stuffy this year. I suppose it is due to the renovations, and I hope that it will be fixed soon. I did not enjoy smelling like bacon and eggs, especially when I am seeing clients!
The only drawback is the Mustard Grill Restaurant situated on the gorund floor. The service is shocking and the food is nothing to write home about. The hotel uses this restaurant for their in-room dining. Make sure that the operator repeats your room number, otherwise you will not get your order!
I believe that this restaurant is damaging the hotel's reputation, but it is making a pot of money as it is the only restaurant on the premise, so it is unlikely that anything will change. Take my advice and rather make the effort to eat at one of the many fine restaurants in Durban!
I will definitely return; see you next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lize Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Lize Z

Indaba is always an exciting time of year, and we are so glad that you stay with us while attending, thank you.

I have personally met with Mustards Grill management to map the way forward. We are also doing extensive renovations to our breakfast area and it's going to be a really great venue. I am sure that you will enjoy the changes in both restaurants on your next stay.

The team thank you for this feedback and for your support. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

By choosing Garden Court South Beach I made an excellent start to my holiday in South Africa. It is beautifully located. The beach is just across the road and the room views are stunning. Sleep quality was excellent and rooms were a fair size. I was in the double double bed room as was travelling with family. Hotel is very child friendly. Breakfast was just too good with a huge variety. We were there over the easter weekend. Loads of people but the service was excellent. Highly recommended hotel if you visiting Durban.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuseinE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear HuseinE

The team is excited that we could give your holiday a great start. We wish you and your family a great holiday further, in this beautiful country of ours.

Please come back soon! We wish you God's blessings on your travels.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gauteng
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Thank you very much for the hospitality, i stayed @ south beach for two days, and it was so nice and clean.The staff is very friendly nice breakfast, everything is splendid and i will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Norah K

The team are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. On your return trip you will see a great revamped breakfast room, and a few other upgrades, which we are sure that you will enjoy.

Thanks so much for your support!

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Property: Garden Court South Beach
Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing