We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Dissappoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Dissappoints!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

South Beach Garden Court is our place of stay when going on tour. I was pleasantly surprised to find a much upgraded accommodation and facilities when I stayed at the Hotel in Dec 2013/January 2014. My previous stay was in 2004. The bathroom was upgraded and the TV has been upgraded to a flat screen. The best surprise of all was the fact that the Hotel now has a seperate kitchen to prepare halaal foods for muslims. The Beach was much cleaner and you feel safe with the visibility of police patrolling on foot and by car. The staff at the Hotel is always friendly and willing to help when requested. many options are available for luch an supper if you choose not to eat at the Hotel. Everything is within walking distance. I will definitely continue to saty at the South Beach Garden Court, Durban.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a spa and I am not aware of a gym facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairuz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Fairuz S

We are really pleased that you are enjoying our upgrades, and the improvements which have been made on the beachfront! While we do not have a completely separate kitchen, our halaal section is sourced from halaal suppliers. The team are thrilled that you will be back soon.

Many thanks for your ongoing support!

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    340
    226
    85
    72
See reviews for
453
227
51
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gauteng
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and I booked in at the Garden Court South Beach Durban during the school holidays from Gauteng and I must commend the staff and their General Manager on the way they managed the guests and their demands. From the front office staff, to the cleaner, waiters/waitresses, housekeeping, General Manager, I could not find a single flaw. The room was super clean and catered superbly for my family. The hotel was fully booked and one would have expected chaos, but the way the staff handled the situation, left me impressed. The General Manager, very humble, yet extremely intelligent and on the ball left no stone unturned to make his guests feel welcome. Now, that's what I call service. Well done and expect to see more of me.

Room Tip: Sea facing on the far top floor has such a breathtaking view. What more could you ask for? There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Sheryl J

You are most kind, thank you for your wonderful words of encouragement. We aim to make your stay wonderful at all times. It means so much to myself and the team, when we receive such glowing compliments. Garden Court South Beach looks forward to welcoming you back to this, your home away from home.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a nice hotel to stay and the staff is very helpful and professional. The rooms are nice and well serviced.
Breakfast is nice but standard with little variation. Dinner was a very big disappointed as I stayed there for three days and had to select from the same “spread” every evening. Visiting Durban require that you taste the Indian and African cuisine but NOT every night.
One would expect a nice variety of seafood dishes in a hotel so close to the ocean but there were only small pieces of tasteless Hake (stokvis) available. I assume that the food is planned to cater for the average guests but would like to suggest that management include a nice variety of seafood dishes.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have big windows that can open to allow the “outside” environment and fresh sea air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Danie WS

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We agree that it is good to have variation, and I will be sitting down with my own Food and Beverage Team and the Mustards Grill Team to go over your feedback and brainstorm improvements.

We are really glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked by work for a Congress @ the ICC. Unfortunately another large company also booked at the same time resulting in a very unpleasant breakfast time- overcrowded. I was on the 18th floor and had to wait approx 15minutes for a lift and at each stop more people just squeezed themselves in although it was full.
On the plus side, sea facing rooms are a must and dinner at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazing place - SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Amazing Place - SA

Please accept our sincere apologies that there were delays. Thank you for your compliments regarding sea facing rooms and the dinner. The team really appreciates all of your feedback, it always helps us to move from strength to strength. We trust your Congress went well, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Its my first stay here. Very friendly staff and reception. Had a good chat with the manager on dute about the hotels nomination for the responsible tourism awards. Like the khayalitsha cookies in the room. Clean and comfortable. Looking forward to the furniture upgrades. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuudBoi_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear RuudBoi_04

Thanks for choosing Garden Court South Beach. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and really look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Next time you visit, you will be able to see our Lilizela certificate proudly displayed at reception.

Stay well until we meet again.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Its an old hotel and not much is done to keep up appearances. The view overlooking the ocean is nice, but the noise level and the unsafe area can not be compensated. Hence you are stuck in the hotel with the options of food that is not very tempting. The A/C does not work... and the list goes on and on

One thing that is good is the selection of sports channels on the TV

Room Tip: High floor level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoachimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Joachim H

We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations. It is our aim to please all of our valued customers such as yourselves, and it is very dissapointing when we do not acheive this aim.

Thank you for your feedback as it allows us to constantly improve our services.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballito, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Warm, friendly staff that catered to all our needs. The view from our room high up was amazing & watching the sun rise on a beautiful morning was breathtaking. Close to Ushaka Marine World & walking distance on the promenade. Excellent restuarants to choose from all around the area. Will definetely be back because love staying on the beachfront.

Room Tip: Sea facing & high up is the best rooms for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelvanMoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Selvan Moodley

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the view is stunning and trust that you will be back soon to enjoy it some more.

Wishing you good health and happiness.

Kind regards
Amar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Property: Garden Court South Beach
Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing