We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Court South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

good, affordable hotel. great location, tasty breakfast, hotel does need a bit of a revamp, decor feels a bit dated. baths are a tiny, bathrooms would do well to have a separate shower cubicle. friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Justin G

Thank you for your support, and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I'm pleased to advise that we do have various programmes planned to refresh the bedrooms. I think you will be happy with the results.

We are glad that the team was helpful, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

KInd regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
There are newer reviews for Garden Court South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

The rooms are relatively comfortable and clean. The room given to us was not good at all as it was straight across the elevator and it seems that the African people who stayed there love to shout at each other while waiting for an elevator (even at 12 o'clock at night). So got woken up a few times that night.The requirement to produce the credit card at check-in that was used for original payment at the time of booking is a ridiculous requirement which caused a lot of hassle and time wasting during check-in. At no other hotel has this ever been required of me.
Initially no parking was available to me (the receptionist stated the hotel parking was full) and I would have had to park at the Wheel which is a few hundred meters away from the hotel and not very safe. Only after demanding to speak to the manager was parking given to me at the hotel parking which I found was half empty. Then I still had to pay an additional R60 a day for the parking. This is not much but surely this should be included in your room rate. This is no way to treat paying customers and I will definitely not stay there again or recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Nadine K

Please accept our sincere apologies that things were not as expected during your recent stay. Every effort is made to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum, and we are very sorry that we were not succesful in this. Be assured that this is not a normal occurrence, and we ask you to please reconsider your decision and stay with us again.

We are following up each of the other points mentioned, with our standards committee.

We wish you all the very best during your future travels.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Room was not cleaned properly. What i wanted at brekfastas not available when I specifically requested one of the senior people at the dining hall. WIFI was pathetic. I would not recommend this place for Christmas as it is too busy. And for the amount I paid, i never get value for money. I could have stayed at a better place for the amount of money i paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mr Harold S

Please accept our sincere apologies that things were not as they should have been during your recent stay. We are most dissapointed that our service levels were not as they should have been. Please be assured that we are attending to all of the points which you have raised.

We wish you all the very best for the year ahead.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

nicely satisfactory and can improve
Rooms are clean and good service. very nice view best was staff behavior , please improve cooling and you need more parking , Overall a good and excellent experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ajay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Ajay A

The team is so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you all the very best for the year ahead. Please call again soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location of this hotel used to be so sort after, however it is now bordering on a slum area, 4 Seasons is a case in point, the area is strewn with litter. None of this can be helped by the hotel though.
The staff were helpful and stored our bags as we arrived very early.
Once passed reception the hotel felt old and dingy, the passageways carpets felt dirty and that goes for the rooms as well, you don't want to walk barefooted in the room. I would remove all carpets and tile the place.
The elevators are inadequate for the amount of floors, solution make them serve 1 - 12 and 14 - upwards. I walked the ground to 12th floor on more than one occasion.
There also seems to be many more than 4 people occupying rooms in this hotel and we felt unsafe at times and moved our teenage children in with us rather.
Breakfast was without doubt the best we had in a two week holiday, we stayed here 2 nights, the selection was superb, the staff friendly despite the 1000's of people, many rude, that they were attending to.
Staff were all great

Room Tip: Stay as low in hotel as possible, and walk the stairs and take a sea view, or you will have "Li...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJW13CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear DJW13CT

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. The team is really happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and found us to be friendly, thank you.

We agree with you that, as mentioned, some of the surrounding buildings do need some restoration. We are communicating with the relevant authorities to try and get this work carried out by the relevant property owners.

All of the carpets were replaced during this last year, and so we are meeting with our contracted carpet cleaners to remedy the situation of them not looking new. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the lifts. This sounds like a great idea and we will be approaching our lift contractors to see if it is viable to programme the lifts as suggested, for the next season.

We really appreciate your loyal support and wish you and your family all the very best for the year ahead.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I had a good time staying at the hotel.I have no complaints.When it comes to the breakfast, it was out of this world. They know how to cater for a family.The location of the hotel is perfect to family

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kagiso L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Kagiso L

The team is so pleased that you, and your family, enjoyed your stay. Please call again soon.

We wish you all the very best in the year ahead.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had the unfortunate opportunity to spend a night at this hotel. Being part of of the Tshogo Sun group, usually of a good standard, we were shocked at what we found.
The reception staff was rude and unhelpful. When we requested parking for our vehicle we were asked wether we pre booked parking. At no time were we informed that we needed to do this.
The manager informed us that we could park in the Chinese Mall parking behind the hotel, but that the parking close at 19:00 the evening. As we had dinner plans with friends this was not an option.
The room was average and not very clean. Not to mention the absolutely filthy guest chair. There was also no shower curtain at the bath resulting in flooding of the bathroom after taking a shower. The air conditioning control was also not functioning properly.
Needless to say, we did not have the inclusive breakfast as we were, at this point, sufficiently horrified by the experience to want to get out of there as soon as possible.
An experience to be avoided.

Room Tip: Rather avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Dirk V

Thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. This is not the type of experience which we wish to bring to valued guests such as yourself, and we offer our sincere apologies that you did not find the property up to standard on this stay.

The hotel does have limited parking which is allocated on a first come; first serve basis and we are very sorry that we were not able to offer you parking within the hotel on this occasion. Please be assured that I will be raising all of the points which you have mentioned with the relevant team members, in order to institute remedial action.

We wish you and your family all the very best for 2014.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing