We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Court-South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After booking online I was asked to pay additional money at the check-in desk because I was a foreigner from UK. Other that we enjoyed our two nights stay and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Shabbeer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Shabbeer58

I am most concerned that you were inconvenienced at reception, and am looking into this matter. Please be assured that we do not discriminate against any of our guests. We aim to offer each and every valued guest such as yourself, the very best in service.

We are so pleased that you did enjoy the stay, and trust that we will always be your first choice when staying in Durban.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Then place was very need ,It really meet the required standard of the garden hotel.But it will good if the tsogo sun can renovate the hotel like the the PE one.This will be good for business and client

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Mncedisi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear N Mncedisi

Thank you for your support. I am so pleased to announce that we will be undertaking various refurbishment projects throughout the year ahead. I know that you will love the new look of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great get away. It was very short though. Enjoyed the warm, friendly, hospitality very much. Great staff. Food was good. Will definitely recommend & will reurn for another visit...keep up the great service...well done...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Ivan T

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review! We are thrilled that you will be coming back soon - hope it's for a nice long holiday this time.

Best wishes
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My first stay at the hotel was in 2010 and we really enjoyed our stay. Stayed at the hotel from 9-12 January 2013, still the same bedding as 2010, booked for 4 people, but the room only had two sachets of coffee. You now have to pay for parking R60.00 per day which is ridiculous and on top of that there was no parking available the first night. But the cherrie on the cake was when I had to pay R15.00 when I checked out for PORTER services, my word at other hotels its considered part of the hotel services. They will definitely not see me again!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lonetraveller1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Lonetraveller1424

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Please reconsider your decision, and consider staying with us again as we greatly appreciate your support.

We have listened to our valued guests, such as yourself, and have begun a programme to replace our linen. I'm sure that you will be happy with the changes which we are making.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which allows us to improve upon our standards and service offerings. We wish you and your family all the very best for the year ahead.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel is nice nad clean, and staff are friendly. Took dinner, and it was ok. There is no money changer on reception. I had front room, and the view is great. For breakfast, there was no any european or american style food, but it was ok also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear ante f

Thank you so much for your support, and for taking the time to share this feedback. We wish you and your family all the very best for the year ahead, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

good, affordable hotel. great location, tasty breakfast, hotel does need a bit of a revamp, decor feels a bit dated. baths are a tiny, bathrooms would do well to have a separate shower cubicle. friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Justin G

Thank you for your support, and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I'm pleased to advise that we do have various programmes planned to refresh the bedrooms. I think you will be happy with the results.

We are glad that the team was helpful, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

KInd regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The rooms are relatively comfortable and clean. The room given to us was not good at all as it was straight across the elevator and it seems that the African people who stayed there love to shout at each other while waiting for an elevator (even at 12 o'clock at night). So got woken up a few times that night.The requirement to produce the credit card at check-in that was used for original payment at the time of booking is a ridiculous requirement which caused a lot of hassle and time wasting during check-in. At no other hotel has this ever been required of me.
Initially no parking was available to me (the receptionist stated the hotel parking was full) and I would have had to park at the Wheel which is a few hundred meters away from the hotel and not very safe. Only after demanding to speak to the manager was parking given to me at the hotel parking which I found was half empty. Then I still had to pay an additional R60 a day for the parking. This is not much but surely this should be included in your room rate. This is no way to treat paying customers and I will definitely not stay there again or recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Nadine K

Please accept our sincere apologies that things were not as expected during your recent stay. Every effort is made to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum, and we are very sorry that we were not succesful in this. Be assured that this is not a normal occurrence, and we ask you to please reconsider your decision and stay with us again.

We are following up each of the other points mentioned, with our standards committee.

We wish you all the very best during your future travels.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Durban Edward
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 44 in Durban
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £68 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing