We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Arguably the oldest Southern Sun Hotel in the country. For the rate you paying do not expect the best. Just for a 2 night stay I found the hotel very clean & comfortable.Breakfast was superb, rooms were neat and tidy. Very well situated, near beachfront and Ushaka Marine World. Ideal hotel for family wanting a good but affordable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Dokes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Dokes2014

Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and location, to be honest we are proud of both too!

Please bring the family back soon for a great holiday. We look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Garden Court South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Dinner meal should have more Quarter chicken with pap or rise or pastor with mince a beat cheap form I realized people buy takeaways cause the price and quantity of food to satisfy their hunger Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Mr Joseph M

Thank you so much for your valued feedback. Our food and beverage team are working with your suggestions in order to see how we can incorporate your ideas into our menu. We are really pleased and excited that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Improve bedding are not comfortable
Improve food
Room space is too little
I like the location of the hotel
Welcoming at the reception must be improved
Try to organize morning gowns like other hotels so that we can not only relying on big towels to rep the body in the morning.



  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Vusumzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Mr Vusumuzi M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to advise that we are busy with a routine upgrading of all bedding, and we are confident that you will be happy with the results.

I am sharing your comments with the team so that we can make changes where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My room was sea facing. I also noticed that the mats have been changed. The service I received during my checkin was super

I will frequently book the hotel as I usually do even on leisure
I enjoyed my one night stay at South Beach Garden Court

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tobeka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Tobeka S

Thank you so very much for these great comments. Your input is truly valued by all.The team are dedicated to ensuring that you continue to be as happy as always with us. In fact, we trust that the improvements we are planning make you even happier with us in future!

We really appreciate your support. Please come back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Visit this hotel many times before and still offers the best experience Save parking, friendly service, best breakfast, good price. Not to mention the awesome views. Looking forward to our next visit!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Mr Pieter V

Fantastic feedback, many thanks for taking the time to give us your comments.

We really appreciate your loyal support and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

beautiful, and nothing else one would ask for, I really enjoyed and my family as well, I would reall recommend the hotel to other people friends and relatives even social groups, food was good nice ne


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Lucky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thanks for the great feedback! This is what we love to hear. We are so happy we met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay.

We trust we will always be your first choice. Come back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The service I received from the central reservations to the front desk clerk was very good and efficient. The three ice machines maybe were not coping because of the demand. The Dinning restaurant cannot be serious and call three fried calamari's as a R45 starter

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Simphiwe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are planning a refurb to our foyer area, and will look at the capacity of the ice machines. I am worried that your portion size was not correct, and am personally looking into that.

We are so glad that you were happy with the reception service, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing