We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Durban Spa(Durban)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveller rating
479
409
257
93
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
409
257
93
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea facing roomexcellent servicebeach frontenjoyed my stayushaka marine worldrooms are cleankeep up the good workpleasant stayindian oceanhome away from homegcporterleisuresecuritydecemberestablishment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,115 - 1,120 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I enjoyed the sea view my room was sea facing and I could see everything during the day and night. The service was excellent and the staff was very helpful to us. They were smiling all the time and what ever we needed we got it

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Nontsikelelo Oc... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Nontsikelelo Oc...D

The Garden Court South Beach team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is still the best to stay in. Staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean. The breakfast buffet is top class. Once again Garden court south beach you have made our stay very welcome and thanks for the great stay we had the Easter weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sides of the building is not as good as the ones more to the middle. but not to close to the lifts.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Rudi3900

We really appreciate your loyalty, thank you. We wish you and your family all the very best, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Amar and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The location of this hotel is absolutely idyllic - wonderful views over the Indian Ocean. The hotel was comfortable. It is handy for Ushaka Marine World.
Do not walk around near the hotel either on your own or in a small group - it needs to be a big group! There is a lot of crime (bag-snatching etc.) going on; someone said it was drug-related.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor with a good view of the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Chris D

We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel. Safe travels until you stay again!

Kind regards
Amar and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was sentenced to a night in this very busy hotel on South Beach in Durban. I was not asked if I wanted a smoking room and clearly the room I got had been used by a smoker. Everything reeked of smoke in the corridor outside the room and inside the room the curtains and bedding smelt horrible. Service in the Mustard Seed restaurant at the hotel was appalling. Three people in the group were incorrectly billed for their dinner. Then I ordered some milk from room service which arrived slopped all over the tray, the young waitress looking very much the worse for the wear with her hair dishevelled - an amorous encounter? That might explain her appearance and the slopped milk. Breakfast was good - that's about all I can recommend about the hotel. Stay away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntSomersetWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear AntPietermaritzburg

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies that things were not as they should have been. I have shared your feedback with all of our departments, so that action can be taken.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve. We hope that you will visit us again, to enjoy the improvements.

Kind regards
Amar and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Please have enough staff to ashuer the guest, the troleys , please communicate to the guest in terms of any hotel related issues on arrival. aircorn must be re controlled with remote and not manual. Refill all the necessary such as toilet roll/ papper as we as tissues and tee , coffee etc

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Nomthandazo P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Nomthandazo PM

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I have escalated these matters to the relevant departments so that corrective action can be taken where possible.

We really appreciate your support, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews