We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room very Cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Room was very cold. the hotel can not control the aircon.
If you have sinus think twice, because the air con blows 24 hours and there is carpet.

I called the hotel to come switch the aircon off, they brought a board to cover an area that release air. but that was not helpful. the room was very small.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Vha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Vha R

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the aircon. Our engineering team is taking a look at our system in order to take remedial action.

We really appreciate your support, and hope that you will stay with us again in future.

Kind regards
Amar and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Garden Court South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Gardencourt south beach has changed drastically in short period of time, the last time imstayed with you it was just a year ago with very tied space atthe breakfast area and hardly ayear you grew so big

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Frans Boikarabe... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Frans Boikarabe ... M

We are so glad that you enjoy our upgrades. This is just the beginning, we have more exciting projects planned. The team really appreciate your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This holt has a beautiful view of the Sea and it's cost effective. Good for family HOLIDAYS and Business trips wanting to relax as well. Walking within for most activities. Well positioned, easy route

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tshepo073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tshepo073

The team is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your support, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on business and holiday trips.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Got what I expected from the Garden Court. The room was seafaring and what I ordered. The reason why I use South Beach is because of its proximity to a number of amenities and safety in the area. Impressed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Isokopoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Isokopoit

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are thrilled that you are impressed.

The team look forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court South Beach soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After my last review a few months ago I was told that the hotel are bust with a revamp. This is clearly only still a plan, since nothing has changed.

I was allocated a room on the 25th floor and when I tried to use the Wi-Fi I could not connect. After a few calls to reception I was told to come down to reception to fix the problem. They said I must try another room and I was given the key for that. I have to recommend Gift for his help in transferring me to my new room. Unfortunately this was at the door of the lifts on the fifth floor.
Several times during the night I was waken by rowdy guests and that certainly did not help to experience an enjoyable stay.

On this particular trip I stayed at two other Garden Courts in Johannesburg and I have to say this hotel is not worth being in the Garden Court stable.

Room Tip: I have tried a few and must yet find one!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuscany987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tuscany987

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We most sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. Our engineering department are starting on the 7th July 2014 with the structural changes needed for increased Wi Fi connectivity. We have been assured, and firmly believe, that this will solve all of our connectivity challenges.

We really appreciate your support, and thank you for staying with us at Garden Court South Beach.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband & I our 2 year old daughter found the room very comfortable & we had a beautiful beach front view. We were meant to stay 2 nights but instead we stayed 6 nights. The hotel was very helpful. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Definitely take ocean facing suites
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Justine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear 50Justine

Thank you so much for your support. The team look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Enjoy safe travels.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We, (my wife and I), had another warm winter in one of the Durban beach hotels. We were at the Garden Court, South Beach, Durban from Thursday, 12 June 2914 and checked on Friday, 13 June 1014. Ooh! what a wonderful stay! We were on the way to a graduation ceremony of one of our colleague's daughter in Pietermaritzburg (which was to be held on Saturday, 14 June 2014) and we slept over at this hotel GC, South Beach, Dbn). What a breakfast in the morning (as we did not have dinner with them the previous night). There was a wide choice of what you want for breakfast.

Really, Garden Court, South Beach is the hotel to stay at when in Durban, comparing the price yoy pay and the comfortability, nice food, etc. when you stay there.

when we left Durban on Sunday, we were welcomed by big smoke from the North East of Eastern Cape at the areas of Maclear, Matatiel, Kokstad from veldt fires.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msingathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Msingathi N

Thank you so much for your invaluable support. We are sorry to hear about the veldt fires, and trust that everything was brought under control quickly!

Please come back to lovely warm Garden Court South Beach soon.

Best wishes
Garden Court South Beach team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing