We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Was a good stay, staff are friendly, experienced and very helpful! Room was clean, but bathroom should be cleaned better - cold taps had toothpaste on it from previous guest's stay. Mold and Mildew should be treated/cleaned properly. Area does become a bit rowdy on Friday/Saturday nights, but quite safe - due to continuous police presence. In Room dining was good, and the kids enjoyed the meals. Breakfast service was also good, through closer attention should be paid to keeping items filled - instead of guests advising the host that this is empty and that needs to be topped up.
Be wary, they are busy renovating the 2nd floor pool area and upgrading the Wifi - which is unstable at the moment. Due to complete in October 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Santosh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We have taken careful note of all of your feedback, and remedial action will be taken.

The team really appreciate your support, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
There are newer reviews for Garden Court South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Hotel is busy all day with families, groups and tours looking for value for money from a trusted brand on the main Durban beach parade. This tended to be noisy at reception with queues. Breakfasts were great! Parking convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Melvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your support, and for taking the time to post your review.

We trust that the check in experience will move from strength to strength, with our upcoming upgrade.

The team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The aircon is somewhat questionable. But generally a good stay overall. Breakfast was good but service is compromised when busy. Wifi was being upgraded during stay but where it was picked, speed was very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank vpather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for posting this review with regards to your recent stay. Your feedback allows us to see what areas we can improve upon, to improve upon your stay experience. Please be assured that remedial action is being taken on the matters which you have mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived at the lovely weather in Durban with excitement. Only for our mood to be spoiled by the receptionist at Garden court hotel!. No proper welcome, frowning faces and attending to you in anger. Anyway, got to our room which was okay but realized the wi-fi was not working. Had go down at the reception to ask for guidelines on connecting to the wi-fi, and the receptionist showed me with a sulking face,left me in hanging there. I gave up and decided to use my mobile data. One specific dark Asian lady was very rude even to her colleagues. Just stop telling clients you have wi-fi because it's as good as none!
The only good thing there was the breakfast and the location of the hotel. Housekeeping staff and service was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We are extremly pertubed that your stay was not as expected. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in standard. We would appreciate the opportunity to get more details from you so that we can take remedial action on this matter. Should you be agreeable to this, please kindly forward your details to my Personal Assistant on the e-mail address megan.whitfield@tsogosun.com .

We trust that this does not prevent you from staying with us again in future, as we greatly appreciate your support.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Real value for money - with a personal service, pleasant rooms and good food which cater for the individual. The streets surrounding the hotel is however dangerous and activities at night not for the faint hearted - so take care when staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank 339Experience1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your review. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your support.

Please be assured that the hotel and surrounding areas are serviced by a security company. We do also have close realtionships with city authorities to ensure that every step is taken to ensure your security.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived early and wanted to check in at about 10am. The room was not ready, which i understand. The lady at the front desk said it should take another hour-hour and a half and that she would call us. I waited a hour and a half (@11:30) and went back... she said room still not ready and that i should wait on her call. We waited and waited ... she never did call. We only checked in at 17:30.... not acceptable!!!! The other lady at reception said the previous one that "helped" us left at 14:30.
The next day I to reception to complain about the terrible service and the man at reception refused to give me the name of woman of the previous day.
Really BAD service!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Zaakir Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Mr Zaakir Ali A

Please accept our sincere apologies for this lapse in standard. This is definately not the type of service which we wish to offer to valued guests such as yourself. Remedial action has been taken in this matter, and we do assure you that such an incident will not happen again.

If we can be of any future assistance, please do not hesitate to contact myself or one of my management team. We really appreciate your support, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

i am not a fussy traveller but allow me to lodge a complain.i am not sleeping here again.I booked myself for a weekned from 8 August 2014.First check in was not so great,poor lady trying her best to help.I mean there we like 3 customers speaking to her at once.The reception area is so small.I was given a room on the 3rd floor.It was suppose to be sea facing but my view was spoit by a tree and some material from pool renovation.The toilet in the room is small and why not modify the wall units in the bedroom.my mind,walk down the road before booking here.Breaksfast hall was another good mess,noisy as a result,you cant enjoy your meal.lastly,why serve me hard muffins.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmarHurjan, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Please accept our most sincere apologies that things were not as they should have been. We are very saddened that you did not enjoy your stay. If I or any of my team can be of any help with any future matters, please do not hesitate to call on us.

Many thanks and kind regards
Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing