We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A letdown in all aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Court South Beach
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A letdown in all aspects”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Stayed here for the worldcup for 2 nights. It was a BIG hotel with 20+ floors. There were lots of media staying here.
Room and hotel was old and needs renovation. Bedding was dirty and I used my snuggie instead.
We tried room service, food was awful. Looked at bar at hotel - food looked terrible there too.
Breakfast was a decent service as many options to cater for the 00's guests.
Location was right next to the FIFA fan fest - so we had loud music going until 3am. This won't be there for other guests.
Location for the beach is great as right there - but were were there for the soccer - so we walked on the boardwalk for 30 mins.

I didn't really see any nicer hotels walking along the boardwalk....but this was definitely rundown and not somewhere I'd come back to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoBritGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, General Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 29 December 2015
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    341
    227
    85
    73
See reviews for
457
228
51
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Two nights were enough to classify this hotel as a very good one. The front desk attention was very good and my room was small but comfortable. In fact, it was very good to sleep only. Amenities were not very sophisticated but worked very well as the very soft towels. For those who want to spend a long time outdoors, this is a very good option indeed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRLUCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We stayed here for the World Cup games we went to in Durban. It was a FIFA backed hotel and much of the media for the WC staying here. It's also directly across the street from the beach. It's had a major face lift to look nice for the WC. New paint job everywhere, it looks pretty clean overall. Amenities: they had a shower gel & shampoo/conditioner in one plus a bar of soap. i didn't use any of it as it seemed only average. They have a tea kettle and tea & coffee in the room. The beds are ok, not bad for a side sleeper, but could be softer. The breakfast, if you don't include it, is 120 RAND per person - if you don't mind walking, there's a Wimpy's further North on the beach to get breakfast at that'll be only 1/3rd the price - 15 min walk.

Overall, if you want a cheap place to stay on the beach in Durban, stay here. There's a wonderful Indian restaurant 2 blocks North, but it's in a sketchy area if you walk away from the beach (which I wouldn't recommend). Also, cab to the airport will cost you about 500 RAND from here.

If I had my choice, I wouldn't stay here again, it's only for the economical.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel with a large group. It was ok, average. Kind of like a holiday Inn in the USA. We did have an ocean view, although there is currently a lot of construction going on outside. Although the ocean looked nice we were disappointed that the area is very unsafe - we were told never to walk outside after dark and in fact one member of our group was mugged just a block from the hotel. Even local people told us we should not be outside! During the day we felt fine walking on the beach and at the outdoor market. (although shopping at Victoria market was much better). We did walk from the hotel to Ushaka Marine world during the day along the beach - about 10 min walk.
The hotel had a good breakfast buffet I was very happy with.
The safe in our room did not work and most others in our group said the same thing. Whenever we asked anyone at the front desk a question about the room or the city they seemed pretty clueless and told us someone would call us back (although they never did). but since we were a large tour group it is possible that they were just overwhelmed. If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive hotel in Durban I would say this one is ok. (although the Garden Court Marine Parade a few blocks up the street did look nicer to me).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2016
Google Translation
'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Nice beachfront location. As the boulevard is under reconstruction the area is not as nice as it used to be (and will be in future), while there is a lot of noise during day time.
Swimming pool was without water. For it's class, very affordable (appx € 50 per room, incl. breakfast)

Roomy, well lighted, comfortable rooms. Not much of a lounge and only a very limited restaurant.
In the direct neighbourhood there are only hotel restaurants (or a bit scrubby looking ones) which are not very attractive.

Much cosier restaurants are at the Marine Parade (appx 1,5 km further), but at night you need a car or a cab to get there.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed the night of the Lions rugby game in Durban - in some trepidation given the reviews we had read. Every hotel was full and staff everywhere were under pressure. The people at the Garden Court were friendly and helpful and were as helpful as possible. The hotel is old and only slightly refurbished, with small rooms. It is clean, though, and the breakfast buffet was extensive - and the price is reasonable. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2016
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

This was once a Holiday Inn. It couldn't be mistaken for one now. Average-sized rooms, in need of redecoration, and with poor heat control. Still, it's a good location if you get a view of the Indian Ocean (not available from all rooms, despite some reviews). The 2nd floor pool is a bit poky, and the underground car park a little gloomy
and over-priced.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, Manager at Garden Court South Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2016
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.2 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court South Beach

Property: Garden Court South Beach
Address: 73 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4056, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durban
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the hustle and bustle of Durban, this affordable family-friendly hotel offers stunning panoramic views of the historic Durban Harbour and the Indian Ocean. A stone’s throw from the modern aquarium and oceanarium, uShaka Marine World, this hotel also allows for easy access to the SunCoast Casino and Entertainment complex, miles of golden beaches and the culturally rich Durban CBD. This Garden Court Hotel is the ideal destination for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court - South Beach Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing