We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas and New Years 2011/2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas and New Years 2011/2012”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I enjoyed my 2 weeks stay at the hotel and my room had beautiful views of the beach and indian ocean. i will be coming back to Durban for easter and plan to stay here again for 2 weeks as well and hope to get the same room again during this stay.

Room Tip: I was on the 23rd floorand had beautiful views of the beach and indian ocean for as far as the eye c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    293
    132
    45
    32
See reviews for
370
169
27
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hotel needs to be upraged so that I can worth the money we paying,i used to sleep at the hotel 9 yrs ago but nothing has changed even now,compare to south beach every time time u go there u find something new which is exciting,the hotel needs to value the money we paYing it is expensive compare to south,but the rooms are big,dining hall staff we so friendly especially Pretty & Thando they are friendly we made friends (Pretty) is the best,i had a good time see u again in december hope the will be slight changes.plasma tv.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

From initial booking with Pealeen to front desk with Ivan, It was pure bliss! James at the bar made our evenings too!! We only managed to stay 3 days, but trust me, we will be back, ( not in summer though) Us peeps in Jozi cant handle the heat:-( The only negetive thing i have to report on was a young lady at the breakfast buffet, there were plenty tables open at the back of the place, and we wanted to sit by the window, and she simply did not allow that! Please guys, work to make guests happy (no matter what)... see you soon!!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view!!! Choose from floor 7 up!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stayed recently in a family room. Room was found to be comfortable. With a full view of the Indian Ocean and its central location, the Garden Court proved to be a great choice from the hotels on the Durban beach front. The breakfast is great and the staff are exceptional in their service ethic. Great value for money as well.

Room Tip: Locate yourself on a floor away from one that has an ice-machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahNal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My husband and I are newlyweds and we spent our honeymoon at the Garden Court Marine Parade. Our room was wonderful, the service was impeccable and the food delicious and plentiful. We had a magnificent holiday and have always enjoyed excellent service at the Southern Sun (we holidayed at the North Beach hotel earlier in the year). Many thanks indeed!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This hotel does nothing for the image of Garden Court hotels. Its been through several renovations over time and it shows. The only pleasent part of the hotel is the breakfast restaurant - although with very indifferent service. Check-in was easy, the room clean but the bed very old and cranky - the mattress has seen better days. The hotel room and bathroom takes you back to the 90's - having to shower in the bath is always an akward experience. Check-out is a nightmare - very slow with not a smile in sight - I'm sorry if its an effort to service your guests. I don't think the hotel is worth the price I paid. The hotel is located on the golden mile of Durban - but located towards the wrong part of town (South Beach). For better accommodation options consider hotels on North Beach or go for the trendy Umhlanga Rocks area. This hotel just doens't cut it.

Room Tip: The hotel has 30 floors. If you want a stunning view of the beach ask for a room on one of the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank instaTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I've stayed many times at this landmark hotel centrally situated on Durban's golden mile. Over the years I've come to realise that this may not be the ideal hotel of choice if you sharing the room with the kids, as the rooms are on the small side. The Garden Court group is reliable with their standards of cleanliness, value for money and service.
The rooftop swimming pool and great vistas are indeed fond recollections.

The main beaches and restaurants are all within walking distance and the breakfast remains of a very good quality at this hotel. I would love to return to sunny Durban in the South African winter and would not hesitate to return to this establishment but may just book a seperate room for the kids next time round!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing