We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay and will visit again if i had to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Enjoyed my stayed here, was here on business trip, stayed four day, great Sea view if you are staying at 25 th floor and above. a bit old fasioned needs some morden look and touch, overall very nice, Breafast was the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratlhogo Ntsoko... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Ratlhogo,

I agree, our breakfasts are great and are always well received. We do hope that when traveling to Durban next we will be your destination of choice.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Hotel is in a good spot and has great views but the rooms are old. Carpets were smelly and looked dirty. Bathroom was also in need of maintenance. Overall too expensive and felt like I was staying in a 2 star hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Mojo222,

Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that a minor room refurbishment program has been planned and is due to start in the new future. Flat Screen TV's and Bar Fridges in family rooms have already been installed.
We hope to welcome you back to see all the exciting changes.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, we checked in on the 25/01/13 and out 28/01/13. it was my sisters birthday on saturday 26th. I must say we had a great time, the hotel is neat and clean the staff very friendly, Xolani was our barman he made sure we never got thirsty. The bed was very comfortable and the sea views were amazing.
We made good friends and had a jolly good time.
We will definetly be coming back to the hotel.

Tshepo M

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tshepo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2013

Dear Tshepo M,
Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We look forward to welcome you back and will have the drinks on ice waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I spent the weekend with my cousin and his three boys on first weekend of Jan, all was perfect and awesome and the security which is always my main concern was up to scratch and excellent. The boys forgot to put away the laptops on the safe two times when we left for the beach but we didn't experience any faults.
The boys loved the rooms though it wasn't that good to give them one bed but it wasn't much of a problem. Great views

Though it was very busy and full, breakfast was well managed and we didn't mind waiting to get to our seats whenever they were ready. Please give those hard working waiters BIG January bonuses again, they were quick to respond and attend to Guests.

Though we checked out a day earlier that the original booking due date due to long drive back home we noticed that reception doesn't keep enough cash in case there are change or refunds to be done. only if that can be looked into!

All in all the Garden Court was awesome and thanks a lot Guys, keep it up!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear Kabelo M,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We love the photo and hope to welcome you and your family back very soon.
Have a great year ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The hotel is neat and clean, although more reminiscent of the 80's and 90's heydays. The rooms are larger than its sister Garden court South Beach, and its really worth paying a little more to choose this hotel. The breakfast area has been revamped and boasts a good buffet selection. Very family friendly. The indoor pool on the top floor is sun heated, and is great on days when its too rainy to visit the beach. If you are travelling off peak as we were, it is not essential to take the hotel parking, as there is plenty of street parking available. The parking itself is a maze of floors that takes a good 5 minutes just to navigate out of.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor to avoid hearing the noise from the clubs below all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear AzimaM,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay.
We will keep you updated on any up and coming refurbsihments at the hotel.Have a brilliant 2013 and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I enjoyed my stay in this Hotel, staff was friendly and its closer to the Beach, You wake up to morning Sea Breezes, staff was friendly and its very clean, I enjoyed breakfast too. They must improve on the check in process as it is slow.

Room Tip: Book Rooms on Top they are less noisier and Sea View is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Dear ThandiD,

Thank you for the amazing feedback and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. The weather this season has been fantastic and trust you had many sunny days on the beach.
May 2013 be an inspirational year for you and we look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The check- In process was very slow, but the room conditions were excellent and value for the money though the furniture is getting old, but for a 3 star hotel, its excellent. I will definately go back there again for vacation. The atmosphere was lovely and the hotel was very neat and clean.The surroundings are now safe thanks to the police visibility everywhere. I felt safe

Room Tip: The Room was excellent for a 3 Star Room as compared to 3 Star Hotels room at Dubai and Thailand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hlalo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Dear Hlalo G,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback received. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We hope that you and your loved ones had a great festive season and we wish yoy all the best for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#17 of 44 in Durban
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Address: 167 OR O R Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £88 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing