We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had an awesome stay at this hotel, it was clean and comfortable and is in an ideal location. We were on the 22nd Floor and the view was awesome, absolutely breathtaking! Exactly what you want when you go to the coast - a sea view and all rooms are sea-facing! The lifts are always available, almost instantly when you press the button so no waiting for ages for the lift (which I thought might be the case being so high up - but no problem at all!). The room is not ultra modern but extremely comfortable (and has a flat screen TV) and the bathroom is nicely tiled and quite pleasant to be in. The breakfast (which is included) is outstanding and fit for a King - full buffet breakfast, awesome! The hotel parking is a pleasure and for the very reasonable cost per night is well worth it for peace of mind (24hr security). Will DEFINITELY go back there.

Room Tip: To be higher up is better. There is a funfair below and I imagine could get a bit noisy. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevCJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Bev,

Thank you so much for your feedback and we were delighted to note that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I agree the view is spectacular and must be one of the best on the Sapphire Coast. In addition to the Flat Screen TV's we now have bar fridges in all our family rooms, which you can enjoy during your next stay.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    293
    132
    45
    32
See reviews for
370
169
27
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Enjoyed my stayed here, was here on business trip, stayed four day, great Sea view if you are staying at 25 th floor and above. a bit old fasioned needs some morden look and touch, overall very nice, Breafast was the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratlhogo Ntsoko... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Ratlhogo,

I agree, our breakfasts are great and are always well received. We do hope that when traveling to Durban next we will be your destination of choice.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Hotel is in a good spot and has great views but the rooms are old. Carpets were smelly and looked dirty. Bathroom was also in need of maintenance. Overall too expensive and felt like I was staying in a 2 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Mojo222,

Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that a minor room refurbishment program has been planned and is due to start in the new future. Flat Screen TV's and Bar Fridges in family rooms have already been installed.
We hope to welcome you back to see all the exciting changes.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, we checked in on the 25/01/13 and out 28/01/13. it was my sisters birthday on saturday 26th. I must say we had a great time, the hotel is neat and clean the staff very friendly, Xolani was our barman he made sure we never got thirsty. The bed was very comfortable and the sea views were amazing.
We made good friends and had a jolly good time.
We will definetly be coming back to the hotel.

Tshepo M

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tshepo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Tshepo M,
Thank you for the positive feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We look forward to welcome you back and will have the drinks on ice waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I spent the weekend with my cousin and his three boys on first weekend of Jan, all was perfect and awesome and the security which is always my main concern was up to scratch and excellent. The boys forgot to put away the laptops on the safe two times when we left for the beach but we didn't experience any faults.
The boys loved the rooms though it wasn't that good to give them one bed but it wasn't much of a problem. Great views

Though it was very busy and full, breakfast was well managed and we didn't mind waiting to get to our seats whenever they were ready. Please give those hard working waiters BIG January bonuses again, they were quick to respond and attend to Guests.

Though we checked out a day earlier that the original booking due date due to long drive back home we noticed that reception doesn't keep enough cash in case there are change or refunds to be done. only if that can be looked into!

All in all the Garden Court was awesome and thanks a lot Guys, keep it up!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabelo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear Kabelo M,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We love the photo and hope to welcome you and your family back very soon.
Have a great year ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The hotel is neat and clean, although more reminiscent of the 80's and 90's heydays. The rooms are larger than its sister Garden court South Beach, and its really worth paying a little more to choose this hotel. The breakfast area has been revamped and boasts a good buffet selection. Very family friendly. The indoor pool on the top floor is sun heated, and is great on days when its too rainy to visit the beach. If you are travelling off peak as we were, it is not essential to take the hotel parking, as there is plenty of street parking available. The parking itself is a maze of floors that takes a good 5 minutes just to navigate out of.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor to avoid hearing the noise from the clubs below all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, General Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear AzimaM,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. We are so pleased that you had a memorable stay.
We will keep you updated on any up and coming refurbsihments at the hotel.Have a brilliant 2013 and we look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I enjoyed my stay in this Hotel, staff was friendly and its closer to the Beach, You wake up to morning Sea Breezes, staff was friendly and its very clean, I enjoyed breakfast too. They must improve on the check in process as it is slow.

Room Tip: Book Rooms on Top they are less noisier and Sea View is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear ThandiD,

Thank you for the amazing feedback and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. The weather this season has been fantastic and trust you had many sunny days on the beach.
May 2013 be an inspirational year for you and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing