We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun Break”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you are travelling to Durban, the Marine Parade Garden Court gives great value for money. It is conveniently situated across the road from the Amusement Park and the beach paddling pools. The down side is that the screams from the Amusement Park revelelers may keep you up at night if you are a light and early sleeper. The park does not close too late, so catch a movie on the DST until 11pm and you should be ok.

Nice Souther Sun biscuits and tea/coffe greet you in the room and the breakfast buffet is big and mmmm. You may have to queue for your eggs if you want them fried.
The buffet dinner is R150 per person and R75 per adult. If you think that is too expensive, there are a number of take-aways around the hotel, or take a drive down to Shaka Marine World and enjoy one of the many diners there.
The best part of the hotel is the pool on the 30th floor, and the grassed sun-decks on the 28th floor. You have to plan to spend some time there. The views of Durban beach and the Indian Ocean is spectacular. The staff is well trained and friendly. Oh, and don't worry about bringing beach towels: they provide you with a token system.

In 2014, they are going to spend a fortune on re-furbishments, so be careful when you book in. This time next year, it will look and feel even better, I am told.
There is parking at R60 per night, but when busy, it gets too full and you then have to resort to off street parking. Rather park in front of the hotel: the car guards there are registered and professional. There are no car guards at the back of the hotel,but there is a Nativity Scene (widest definition thereof) if you travel there in December or January. Don't forget to have a look at it. It's put on by the Durban Electricity Department.

Room Tip: The lift bell is very noisy. Ensure that you do not have a room that is close to the elevator foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    295
    133
    45
    32
See reviews for
373
170
27
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had such a lovely experience and all staff from the parking attendant ,reception ,breakfast staff were so helpful even if you walked past a staff member you will be greeted with a smile .The free WIFI- I’m not to computer savvy but the reception staff sorted me out immediately , The breakfast was great with lots of variety ,we are vegetarians and I asked if they had any soya products and I was amazed as Tony sorted us out immediately . My 2 grand kids did not want to leave the breakfast area as they were kept busy with art and crafts in the kiddies corner. Breakfast was a treat . the rooms are quite large ,the bed and bathroom was neat and tidy .Majority of the amenities are within walking distance .My stay here was beyond my expectations and will be happy to stay here again .

Room Tip: they great thing at this hotel is that all rooms are sea view facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay and felt safe and comfortable while closest to most amenities you could ask for. Friendly and helpful staff all round. Nice food and fresh. Highly recommended. Halala!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank N_G_S96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Good value for money family room. Location at Druban beachfront was perfect. Close proximity to everything. Indoor pool was good, especially when the beach was over crowded and when the Durban heat became unbearable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Navin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Overall the stay was good. Problem started at check in when I was asked for my credit card that I made the payment with. This I have done on tsogo sun website witch does not work correctly and there for I had problems witch was sorted by their IT department. luckely I keep all communications for every thing. When I got at the hotel they said the credit card number was not the same, so I showed them my proof of communication and problem was solved.
I had medication that needed to be kept cool so I asked for a small cooler but this could not be supplied and I understood why. I had a cooler box and went to the ice machine on floor level 19. But was out of order the whole of our stay so I asked room service to deliver a bucket of ice regularly. Food was very good morning and afternoon, much better that the musterd grill at garden court south beach. But do not order pizza here it is a waist of money. I would rather stay at the Garden court south beach as I have done before.

Room Tip: Not to high because you wait for ever when the lift are busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Garden Court Marine Parade is situated on the South Beach of Durban. You are close to Ushaka Marine World, near factory shops, Moses Mabida stadium and half an hour away from Umhlanga and Ballito in the North Coast. We visited as family and enjoyed a selection of fresh fruit, etc for breakfast.The personnel was always helpful and room service allowed us time to relax in the evenings. The 16th of December was overcrowded as it was a public holiday, but police were everywhere to see that no incidents occur. Note that you pay parking for your vehicle and your trailor, as it is not included in your booking tariff.The North Beach hotels beachfront, like the Maharani/Elangeni is not as crowded as the South Beach.

Room Tip: We always book in the non-smoking section. You also have a little fridge in your room to keep coold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polfyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Cleanliness was excellent and breakfast was great..Mainteinace staff had a bit of an attitude .Otherwise everything else was perfect,view was to die for.
looking forward to visiting again,just have to be careful with jewels ,not be careless.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kathy_arumugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing