We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A five-star service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A five-star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Garden Court Marine Parade was just what we needed for our holiday recently. The location of the hotel was optimal for our stay in that we were able to go any direction without feeling trapped in traffic. We could dive into the ocean at any time of the day. It made out visit marvelous. We can visit this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rudzani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    274
    127
    42
    32
See reviews for
350
162
22
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I Stayed in a 4 star in December during peak holidays and the service war terrible. This time I changed to a 3 star and received good service and monies value. In room service and house keeping was excellent. Not sure when and if Maharani would be able to maintain a standard Like Garden court which never fails to deliver on every occasion that I stayed there. Good Food great stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Shahabana Yasmi... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Spacious rooms. Perfect view. Breakfast was delicious. A wide variety of breakfast yummies to choose from. Very friendly hotel staff. Enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed stay. close to all amenities. Free wifi fast and reliable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shaaira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was excellent. Service was great and staff members were very helpful and courteous. The reception that I received as a frequent guest member was acknowledged. Staff members were courteous and helpful

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Yuven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb south africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here in the school holidays in the beginning of Jan. The hotel is conveniently located to the beach and eating places. Upon check in we were given a room that wasn't cleaned properly and contained items belonging to the previous guest. The second room did not have a functioning aircon so we were moved again.

The rooms itself are tired and old. The bed sheets were pilling and old which was a big No No in my book. On a slightly breezy night, the window in the room kept making a nagging sound and could only be stopped by leaving the window slightly open. Service overall was good and housekeeping was good. I enjoyed the tea station and cookies which were replenished everyday. And for your convenience, there is a bar fridge in the room. Room service proved to be value for money and was quite good.

Breakfast itself was ok but the half-hour queues everyday were just unacceptable. The service at breakfast was not so great and we had to keep asking for cutlery, sugar and basics that should have been there without asking.

The lifts were stinking of damp and was quite horrible. Even though there are 6 lifts, there was quite a wait at times.

I will not stay here again. There are many basics that are not taken care of. The North Beach or Elangeni hotels are more pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

If you are travelling to Durban, the Marine Parade Garden Court gives great value for money. It is conveniently situated across the road from the Amusement Park and the beach paddling pools. The down side is that the screams from the Amusement Park revelelers may keep you up at night if you are a light and early sleeper. The park does not close too late, so catch a movie on the DST until 11pm and you should be ok.

Nice Souther Sun biscuits and tea/coffe greet you in the room and the breakfast buffet is big and mmmm. You may have to queue for your eggs if you want them fried.
The buffet dinner is R150 per person and R75 per adult. If you think that is too expensive, there are a number of take-aways around the hotel, or take a drive down to Shaka Marine World and enjoy one of the many diners there.
The best part of the hotel is the pool on the 30th floor, and the grassed sun-decks on the 28th floor. You have to plan to spend some time there. The views of Durban beach and the Indian Ocean is spectacular. The staff is well trained and friendly. Oh, and don't worry about bringing beach towels: they provide you with a token system.

In 2014, they are going to spend a fortune on re-furbishments, so be careful when you book in. This time next year, it will look and feel even better, I am told.
There is parking at R60 per night, but when busy, it gets too full and you then have to resort to off street parking. Rather park in front of the hotel: the car guards there are registered and professional. There are no car guards at the back of the hotel,but there is a Nativity Scene (widest definition thereof) if you travel there in December or January. Don't forget to have a look at it. It's put on by the Durban Electricity Department.

Room Tip: The lift bell is very noisy. Ensure that you do not have a room that is close to the elevator foyer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had such a lovely experience and all staff from the parking attendant ,reception ,breakfast staff were so helpful even if you walked past a staff member you will be greeted with a smile .The free WIFI- I’m not to computer savvy but the reception staff sorted me out immediately , The breakfast was great with lots of variety ,we are vegetarians and I asked if they had any soya products and I was amazed as Tony sorted us out immediately . My 2 grand kids did not want to leave the breakfast area as they were kept busy with art and crafts in the kiddies corner. Breakfast was a treat . the rooms are quite large ,the bed and bathroom was neat and tidy .Majority of the amenities are within walking distance .My stay here was beyond my expectations and will be happy to stay here again .

Room Tip: they great thing at this hotel is that all rooms are sea view facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 42 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 42 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 Marine Terminal Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing