We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

from the booking till checking out the service was good, the staff at the reception was friendly and supportive knowledgable also with the area and they were helpful with information like the places we could visit whiles there.
I could reccommend this hotel to anyone i know.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Priscilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear PriscillaN,
Thank you for the great feedback and I am so pleased to learn that your stay was a great one. We have some exciting news that will benefit you and all our visitors. The hotel wil start a full refurbishment in July 2014. This programme will take one year from start to completion. We are very excited about this project as this will lift standards of the hotel as we are already the hotel of choice based on our location on Durban's Golden Mile.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The sea view was great my mom 1st time in Durban she was on the moon about the stay and buffet break-fast she had. we will always use the hotel whenever we come to durban Garden Court Marine is the place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Themba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear ThembaL,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that your mom had a relaxing time staying at Garden Court Parade. We are very fortunate to be located on the Golden Mile with the Indian Ocean on our door step. The great plus is that all our rooms are sea facing so even if you can't be on the beach all the time, all you need to do is open your bedroom window and the Indian Ocean lays before you with 180 degree views - to your left Moses Mabida stadium and on a clear day views to Umhlanga and to your right Ushaka Marine World and Durban Harbour.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

top place to stay. location excellent. excellent location. secure hotel. very friendly staff. always helpfull. the breakfast needs to be Halaal. The free wifi was a good benfit. pool area was excellent. on top of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank MDSEEDAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear MDSEEDAT,
Thank you for your response and feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. Location is one of the great features of this hotel. Exciting news it that a full hotel refurbishment will kick of in July 2014 and will take approximately 12 months to complete making us one of the best hotels on the beachfront.
Please be advised that Garden Court Marine Parade is not a certified halaal venue, however during high demand periods a second breakfast venue, that is pork free, is opened.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We could not sleep properly as there was a constant knocking sound above us. Kids running up and down the corridor and knocking on our doors early in the morning. I removed a blanket to use from the packet in the wardrobe and it seemed like that blanket had been dipped in a sewer. I would never ever use this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to my friends or family

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Yaseen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear YaseenA,
Thank you for your feedback received. It is unfortunate that you did not have a pleasant stay and we sincerely apologise for this. Please be advised that the hotel has management and security on duty 24 hours a day to assist with any guest concerns or complaints such as you have mentioned.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great place to stay and conveniently situated
It would be great if a shuttle was provided to and from Shaka marine World or the Docks, I will be coming back again in December and am not that keen to use a conventional taxi

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Jason G,
We look forward to welcome you back in December. Some other great options for transport if you do not wish to make use of taxi services are the People Mover Bus. This transport is a Durban Council initiative. The bus is reliable and well maintained and very cost effective. It stops on all the main routes on the beachfront and is a great means of getting from A- B. Also the Sunbus is available at scheduled times. This bus stops at all the Tsogosun Hotels on the Beachfront and can take you all the way to Suncoast Casino and Entertainment World.
See you in December and don't forget to pack the sunblock!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

the overall service we received was very good, the vicinity around GC Marine Parade is best suited. Most of it is walking distance. the rooms are comfortably to our needs. What I would like is at least a fridge in the rooms, as this would make life easier for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Amena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear AmenaM,
Thank you for your feedback. Please be advised that all our family rooms are fitted with a small fridge that can hold all your daily supplies. Please remember to request a family room when booking next.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 28 Feb - 3 March. Hotel is in a great location on the beach promenade. All hotel rooms offer a wonderful view of the beach; being able to watch the beautiful Durban sunrise and sunset every day is quite a treat. The rooms itself have basic amenities and is very comfortable! The double room was big enough for a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The breakfast buffet was fantastic with quite a large spread and well worth the price.

The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and accommodating. I had to leave really early one of the mornings during my stay and would therefore miss breakfast. I notified reception and they had organised a wonderful "breakfast to-go" pack with croissants, muffins, yoghurt and a few other things which I just had to fetch from reception the next morning. The staff were also kind enough to allow us to check-in early because we had to get ready for an event on that day. A complimentary late check-out was also offered to us. Overall, great staff.

The only negative I would mention is that at night outside the hotel does not feel very safe at all due to strange characters hovering about. However, hotel security was increased at night - they patrolled the lobby and outside the hotel as well. The SAPS also regularly patrolled the beach promenade, so this helps.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel. My family and I had a lovely time here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen552014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Karen552014,
Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate the full and accurate description of the hotel and its facilities and services. Staff are definitely one of the greatest assets any business could ever have and we are very fortunate to have a great team on board. Hope to welcome back soon.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £84 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing