We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Although the service @ reception was super the systems where very slow.
The Garden Court is perfectly situated and definitely family friendly. We were with our Rugby team who were also booked at the hotel and enjoyed I every minute of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Agnesia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear AgnesiaC,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcome you back and the team in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    293
    132
    45
    32
See reviews for
370
169
27
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel completely stuffed up my booking. I booked a suite and when I arrived all I got was a double room. VERY EMBARRASSING!! Garden Court and Durban in general was very disappointing. I will never ever return to Durban. I felt as if I was about to be mugged every moment I spent outside. I was constantly hoarded by prostitutes and beggars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank CB_Bebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear CB_Bepop
Thank you for your feedback and advising us of your recent stay. It is unfortunate that you did not have a great experience and that Durban was disappointing to you. We do have a great working relationship with the local SAPS, local communities and council to ensure that Durban becomes the Lesiure Destination of choice as we do have an amazing beachfront and you can not beat the warm waters of the Indian Ocean.
Again I assure you it is in our best interest to deal with such matters and we will communicate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

very disappointed this time with my stay. I was disappointed that my rewards card was not activated . I had to wait in the room at least 6 hours everyday for my room to be made available after cleaning.......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Irfaan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Irfaan2014,

Thank you for the feedback received. Please be advised that you are required to log onto the Tsogosun site to activate your Rewards Card as this process can not be facilitated by the hotel.
We regret that your room was not serviced timeously as our room attendants have until 4 pm daily to service rooms. Requests for early service need to be made as per our Guest Services Directory.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

from the booking till checking out the service was good, the staff at the reception was friendly and supportive knowledgable also with the area and they were helpful with information like the places we could visit whiles there.
I could reccommend this hotel to anyone i know.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear PriscillaN,
Thank you for the great feedback and I am so pleased to learn that your stay was a great one. We have some exciting news that will benefit you and all our visitors. The hotel wil start a full refurbishment in July 2014. This programme will take one year from start to completion. We are very excited about this project as this will lift standards of the hotel as we are already the hotel of choice based on our location on Durban's Golden Mile.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The sea view was great my mom 1st time in Durban she was on the moon about the stay and buffet break-fast she had. we will always use the hotel whenever we come to durban Garden Court Marine is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Themba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear ThembaL,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that your mom had a relaxing time staying at Garden Court Parade. We are very fortunate to be located on the Golden Mile with the Indian Ocean on our door step. The great plus is that all our rooms are sea facing so even if you can't be on the beach all the time, all you need to do is open your bedroom window and the Indian Ocean lays before you with 180 degree views - to your left Moses Mabida stadium and on a clear day views to Umhlanga and to your right Ushaka Marine World and Durban Harbour.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

top place to stay. location excellent. excellent location. secure hotel. very friendly staff. always helpfull. the breakfast needs to be Halaal. The free wifi was a good benfit. pool area was excellent. on top of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MDSEEDAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear MDSEEDAT,
Thank you for your response and feedback on your recent stay at Garden Court Marine Parade. Location is one of the great features of this hotel. Exciting news it that a full hotel refurbishment will kick of in July 2014 and will take approximately 12 months to complete making us one of the best hotels on the beachfront.
Please be advised that Garden Court Marine Parade is not a certified halaal venue, however during high demand periods a second breakfast venue, that is pork free, is opened.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We could not sleep properly as there was a constant knocking sound above us. Kids running up and down the corridor and knocking on our doors early in the morning. I removed a blanket to use from the packet in the wardrobe and it seemed like that blanket had been dipped in a sewer. I would never ever use this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to my friends or family

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Yaseen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear YaseenA,
Thank you for your feedback received. It is unfortunate that you did not have a pleasant stay and we sincerely apologise for this. Please be advised that the hotel has management and security on duty 24 hours a day to assist with any guest concerns or complaints such as you have mentioned.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing