We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GetAway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“GetAway”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

a place to be for relaxtion, rest peace and harmony very close to all exciting places in Durbs, access very easy, dining, food, breakfast awesome, warm reception, staff friendliness, well equipped bar

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Manzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    288
    128
    44
    32
See reviews for
360
168
27
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel needs attention service is poor quality of breakfast extremely poor. Bathroons are rather old and need an urgent revamp. Safety around the hotel is a concern. Quite pricy hotel for the service you receive. A bit disappointed

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the best hotel along the south beach. A warm and friendly staff just compliment the beauty of the hotel. I really enjoy staying there when I m around Durban. Can't wait to be back again during winter holidays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thabiseng H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent service received from the moment you enter their door step. Staff is so friendly which will make feel that you are in a home away from home. Recommend to stay for Business / Leisure in Durban

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pundarikaksha R... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We hadn't really booked the Garden Court Marine Parade, but when we arrived at our other hotel (Belair Suites a little further up the promenade), we found it occupied by a group of youth baseball teams, making the noise level unbearable, so we decided not to stay there.

When we arrived at Garden Court Marine Parade we received a friendly greating and were shown a few rooms, the first one was obviously a smoking room, the second was not bad at all: Spacious, nicely furnished, clean bathroom, beds OK and offering a wonderful view over the promenade and the ocean. Reading the other reviews I can only recommend to ask for another room if you don't like the one initially offered, they do have nice ones (if you're not horribly picky)!

The music & noise from the little fun fair on the promenade can impact you slightly if you plan to sleep before 10pm, although on our first night we had heavy rainshowers around 7pm so the promenade was deserted and we could even sleep with our window open and wake up to the sound of the ocean. Marvelous!

For beach lovers the location is unbeatable as the hotel is right on the beach front. uShaka Marine World is in walking distance, but you can also get there using the "People Movers" public bus.

Another big pro is the sumptuous breakfast buffet, lot's of choice and all very tasty. The hotel even offers a second "pork free" Halal breakfast room! We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but there is a nice sports bar & fish restaurant (Ocean Basket style) 2 blocks away.

The hotel has a parking garage, but unless you drive a Porsche, you should be fine with street parking, paying the guard 5 Rand instead of the 50 Rand per day thel hotel charges.

Room Tip: The higher the rooms, the less street noise. But beware, there aren't too many elevators, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Anyone can support this Hotel in future. Big compliments to all staff members.
They treated me like a King. Thanks. My room was 1807 and it felt like the Kings bedroom. Room service was excellent. Thanks for that Breakfast.



  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christoffel The... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Christoffel,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Location is excellent.Safe environment and within walking distance from tourist attractions like Ushaka Marine World and Suncoast Casino.Bus terminal right outside hotel.

We were on the 21st Floor - View of the ocean and coastline was magnificent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Gerhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear GerhardV,

Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Garden Court Marine Parade and found that the location was ideal for your needs. It is a privilege to be based on the most beautiful coast line of Durban and to be so closely situated to main attractions such as Suncoast Casino, Ushaka Marine World and the ICC, which makes us a perfect destination for business and leisure travellers.
We also have some exiting news - a full hotel refurbishment has been approved for the hotel and will start on the 15th July 2014 and finish at the end of April 2015. This refurbishment will include all guest rooms, bathrooms, public areas, lifts and and upgrade of our exiting Airconditioning plant. We are all very exited about the changes and trust that you too will share in our excitement.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Property: Garden Court Marine Parade
Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing