We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durban Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Marine Parade
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a wonderful Stay, Staff were very friendly and helpfull!
Rooms were clean and spacious, with beautiful views of the sea.
Abundant of restaurants close by. Also very central to the businesses we had to visit.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Prakash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Of all the hotels along the Marine Parade (don't know the new name) - The Garden Court Marine Parade is one of the best, especially if one is staying in those top floors. The sea views are just exotic and priceless. It will always be my first choice hotel when coming to Durban, and yes I will always recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tshifhiwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I first stayed at this hotel when it had just opened its doors. It was the flagship of hotels on the beachfront. I decided to stay at this hotel after about 2 years since my last visit. Entrance and foyer looked inviting. I checked in just after 2pm. I gave my credit card which was ran through the machine without even checking if i had prepaid for the room (which i did), I also gave my Black Tsogo Sun card which wasn't even picked up off the table, nor we're the details checked nor any acknowledgment of being a loyalty member. No room upgrade was offered, I am not sure if any were available but I didnt enquire. Rooms are dated. Everything is old, except the TV. The bathroom and fittings are also dated. Breakfast buffet is basic but covers all the necessities. Room service timing is not bad but presentation of the food can be drastically improved.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room we stayed in very was smelly - either from dirty carpets or unclean air-conditioning filters. Complaint to staff did not yield satisfactory results. Despite all the family members smelling the bad odour, hotel staff kept insisting they could not smell anything!


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jacob Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for the comrades weekend and really enjoyed it. The location was great! The breakfast on Saturday morning was extremely busy - but they still managed to have good service. Room service on Sunday evening took very long. Maybe additional staff should be employed on the comrades weekend in future? Overall a great stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It is a great place for holiday with the sea view rooms. Room service was sufficient . I will recommend this hotel if you want to wake up to the sea view. It was my girl friend's first time in Durban and she really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Edrian Vusi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

on arrive at room from outing hotel room door left wide open after cleaning had been done. since when does hotel room door left open. hotel employee asking guess for something. room service very slow & food cold

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre G, Manager at Garden Court Marine Parade, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have all been noted, and please rest assured that action will be taken to rectify therse service inadequacies.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
0.8 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Marine Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Marine Parade

Address: 167 OR Tambo Parade, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Marine Parade 3*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Garden Court hotel is situated on Durban’s world-famous Golden Mile. Offering sun-drenched beaches, guests are offered comfort, hospitality and that little something extra. This hotel is at the centre of Durban’s beachfront and offers attention to detail without compromising on the good value that characterises the Garden Court brand. It is the perfect alternative for visitors to this fun seaside city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Court Marine Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Marine Parade Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing