We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
1,007
917
354
156
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,007
917
354
156
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean breeze tsogo sun pool deck indian ocean in room dining golden mile room service durban beachfront sea facing family room rooms are spacious pleasant stay enjoyed my stay south africa home away from home vigour verve
Filter
Updating list...
2,380 - 2,385 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is an old building and it shows. Plumbing is bad, makes all sorts of noises when in use, and creaky groaning plumbing sounds can be heard from neighboring rooms all the time when you are in your room. When showering, every so often the temperature of the water spikes to scalding temperatures at random. No free parking for the price you are paying for the hotel, and when you pay, you pay for access to a parking structure, not a reserved bay, so its first come first serve. Only a few bays actually have direct access to a lift lobby, the other parking floors will have you traversing a few flights of stairs down stairwells which looks generally dirty and broken down. The pool deck on the roof closes at 18:00, so if you are going to Durban for sightseeing, and you are leaving early and coming back late, and assume that you are going to relax by the poolside when you return, forget it, it will be closed, When you see the hotel for the first time, you think it must be a mistake, as the price you paid does not look right relative to the way it looks. Go elsewhere, as there are many hotels in the North beach strip, and I am sure that the cheaper garden court alternatives down the road can't possibly be worse, and you will save a whole lot of money. This hotel would have been nice if it was a whole lot cheaper.

Room Tip: All rooms are beach facing in this hotel, which is a good thing. Try and get a room high up, noise from the beach is excessive till late during holiday periods.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MFO_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Room was fine - with coffee and tea making facilities, good bathroom, clean, good beds, airco, everything in working order. Staff in the hotel was supportive and helpful, but the rules were somewhat overly strict - we were renting a car and had to park the car in the garage, but they could only arrange for this if we knew the car's color and license plate - which we did not know yet. Yet everything went smoothly in the end. The neighborhood has improved over the past few years and is now less dangerous, but still not yet completely safe in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wintberg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Second time I have stayed, the Southern Sun Elangeni is a good hotel, nothing exceptional but no problems. Rooms are clean, in good order and sufficient, nice view. The hotel has a nice bar (I believe there are more) and a choice of three restaurants. Daruma - Japanese - is excellent and the Indian is not bad. Staff are polite, efficient and friendly. There has always been space in the car park when I stayed, and location is good.
Only minor disadvantages, the third restaurant (the standard hotel buffet type) gets a bit crowded at times, and the room key card seem to never last more than 24 hours before having to be reprogrammed at reception.
And a tip - when checking in, come to the front and unload before parking the car - there is no lift from the car park, and it is an effort lugging a suitcase up the steep narrow stairs!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardshipPosting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I go to durban 2 times a year this time we when in jan since durban was full and we couldnt get books anywhere my brother suggested that we stay @north beach he said iit look nice

we got to the hotel after a 7hr drive only to find that the hotel had the most yuck smell @ 3pm in the afternoon our rooms where not ready and there was no undcover cover parking for our car and the staff very bluntly said theres nothing they could do

finaly @ 4pm we were taken to our room thhe passage smelled just as the lobby did
the room a family room, was a lilbigger then a cubical.... the bathroom was so small that if u turn to the tap u knock the tub and if u turn to the tub u knock the tap the the windows where dirty full of insects and there was loud music thumping against my window.... they changed our room to a (bigger 1) wish was not it was the same size and there was only one diff the AC was not working.... we ran out of there in 3hrs as soon as we got other bookings o and i found earplugs under the pillow mm wonder why it honestly was thee WORST HOTEL EVER NEVER AGAIN!!!
aff no n
ONLY STAY HERE if you want lack of sleep and bad smells and blunt staff NO NO!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shezoo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

South African Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery ( SASCRS ) held its 2011 conference at Elangeni, Southern Sun, 18 to 22nd August 2011. There were speakers from the US, Germany, Nerthelands and Japan among others! I was a speaker at the meeting too and was well received! Ophthalmologists all over South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe and other parts of the world were delegates!

What a meeting! What a venue! What a city! What a South Africa! People say South Africa is the best place on the planet! Having travelled all over the world, I can't resist the temptation to believe that! Elangeni is a few footsteps from North Beach! Both are world class, both share the same sea view but Elangeni is better than North Beach! I stayed at Elangeni in August and North Beach in October! I definitely will be back in either! The sea view especially at sunrise and sunset is way too seductive! This is South Africa at its most natural!

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must safe from minor disturbance from ocean waves!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZingaraPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews