We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View..excellent location and courteous staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome View..excellent location and courteous staff!”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

If you plan to spend some time in Durban..be it business or leisure..this hotel is a good choice..I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every day..The most notable point is ...of course..the sea facing rooms..staff is prompt and helpful. Everything is accessible from the hotel and food was good-specially the breakfast..i will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea..so just go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for taking the timeto post your reviews.

I am delighted that overall you had a good stay and take note of your suggestions for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    686
    254
    104
    75
See reviews for
584
356
52
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel in February 2012 and wanted to experience the renovated rooms so we booked a 6-night stay in August. The rooms have been painted, there is a new flat-screen TV and console, new lamp shades, the bathroom now has a separate shower and each room comes standard with a small bar fridge. The Piatto restaurant was very good as usual as was the breakfast - excellent food with excellent service (better then the Oyster Box hotel in Umhlanga).
We did, however, get stuck in one of the new elevators and the coffee shop is a waste of time. Either there are stale cakes or no cakes - rather go to the Elangeni coffee shop where the variety of cakes is very good, there is always a person behind the counter and you have a great view.
I was working each day so my wife stayed in the room and worked on her next eBook. She wanted peace and quiet - we were on the 29th floor, far away from the noisy renovations on the 10th floor but her gripe was the constant banging of the rear service door as housekeeping and room service staff came in and out. Surely they can do something to stop these doors from slamming so loud?!

Room Tip: The renovations are now on the tenth floor so choose a room high up! They are still putting people o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrugerToKalahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay.

The issues regarding the coffee shop and door banging have now been addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun North Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I found the staff here friendly, however I also found staff do not listen to what is being said a lot of the time, I asked for 24 hr internet and paid for it but was sold a 2 hr pass, the hotel use a outside agency which you have to then explain what as happened over the telephone, after an apology I was given a free pass. I found myself having to make requests as simple as possible and double check many things I had requested. This hotel as a weird way at breakfast, after you take your breakfast you then have to order your toast when you see a free waiter, by the time your toast arrives, your breakfast is either cold or you have eaten it, I wish the would just put a toaster out for people to use rather than waiters running into the kitchen making toast. For me it is the little things that make a difference. I was impressed with the banqueting rooms and service provided, and a thank you to Kathy for being understanding and caring. Due to a disturbance at 3.30am by 10 noisy drunken guests at the pool outside all of the rooms, it would of been nice for the Duty manager to of got back to me as she had promised but I sense she must of forgot or did not see it as an issue, having many guests being woken up. Saying all that, there was god points and areas for improvement, and the rooms were very basic. Across the road was the beach and the hotel had 2 swimming pools, quite basic pools. This was quite a hard hotel to judge.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers and toes and hope for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saint0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel was well positioned for the sea front. The rooms were clan if a little small. The japanese restaurant was awesome a real experience. The staff were friendly and very accomodation. Check in was swift and welcoming

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We recently spent a wonderful long weekend in Durban based at Southern Sun North Beach. Having stayed at the Elangeni before we were keen to try this one out. I would say they are very similar. Rooms in North Beach possibly a bit bigger. We were put into a very spacious end room, with a separate luggage room/ closet, and huge bathroom. The bathroom had not been modernised, but I am sure it was on the list to do, as the hotel are in the process of refurbishment. The service at the hotel was excellent. We called down for extra blankets one evening, and within about 2 minutes someone came up with blankets and a heater. With every request they were so accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed the bike hire right from our hotel, and the family friendly Piatto restaurant in the hotel. Breakfast was very busy, but very helpful staff in the dining room too. Highly recommended for a family stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All of our bathrooms are due to be upgraded during the refurbishment, unfortunately the deluxe rooms are only being attended to now.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you backto Southern Sun North Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Myall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was like stepping back into a time warp. Problem after problem, promises to fix each right away, then call after call before someone finally arrives! Internet is good for 2007, but it is now 2012! Rooms are small and tired! I had to move to get a room that actually had Internet. This resulted in an even smaller room, but no compensation, just the inconvenience.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveUpperMyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our stay at the Southern Sun North Beach, was excellent. The staff were always so pleasant, helpful and accomodating. The breakfast had a wide selection to cater for most taste, I was glad to see something spicy available ;-) being Durban after all! The bathroom however did not have a tub just shower and the door didnt have a lock, which made life with a 1 and half year old toddler, somewhat challenging. The beach views were spectacular (the windows need cleaning though). The porter was very helpful in booking a restaurant for us, even at 10pm at night!!

I was sceptical the hotel is positioned a distance away from the 'nice' parts of the beach walkway, however I was pleasantly surprised taken aback by how beautifully the esplanade has been upgraded. It felt like I was in Miami!! The weather also played its part.

Highly recommended hotel, location and experience! We all enjoyed it, from kids to adults!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, I chose a room with superior king size bed to accomodate my husband and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing