We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, great location but expected a bit more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, great location but expected a bit more”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here over the comrades marathon weekend (31/5 - 4/6). Very nice place to stay if your running the comrades, really caters well for runners. I spent 4 nights at the Maharani and I did expect a bit more for almost US$200 per night. Great location, North Beach is nice and clean, on the beach front with lots to do.

My Room was clean, comfortable and had almost everything I needed, except working Wifi...

Also within a 10 minute walking distance of the Durban Convention Centre. The view from the hotel are amazing, wish my room had a balcony...

Con's - In room dining was an issue, could never get through. The Hotel restaurant "The Piatto" has very slow service. Could never get through to the fronts desk using the room phone :(. The hotel was currently undergoing renovations. No iron or ironing board in my room. No Wifi or Wifi was not working...

Plus - staff was very helpful and friendly, Thank you to the gentleman who had to fix my room safe. buffet breakfast was quiet good. The Japanese restaurant at Elangeni was really nice and were really accommodating to a hungry and tired comrades runner.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is sea side facing and on the 20th floor and higher. A/C in rooms can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of wi-fi and te lapse in standards expereinced by the Piatto restaurant and room service. Your comments have been handed over to the management, in order that they take the necessary corrective action.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    686
    254
    104
    74
See reviews for
583
356
52
632
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Level Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel , the last lap of our south african tour. We were thrilled by the location, all the rooms facing the enchanting stretch of the blue waters of the Indian ocean. The rooms comfortable and clean with attentive staff, both the front desk and room service. The breakfast spread was varied and the restauranr good.The access to the beach which was maintained clean and tidy with beautifully landscaped gardens was the plus point of this property.

Room Tip: a[[ roums are similar, only the number of the floor varies. since there is a lift facility to all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilaseventy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and that the facilities met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

If you plan to spend some time in Durban, on business or leisure, the Southern Sun Elangeni is a hotel of good choice.. We stayed for 3 nights in Feb 2013 and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations so the gym and pool are off limits.

The most notable point of the Southern Sun Elangeni is of course the Sea facing rooms. The Rooms are of decent size, clean, beds are comfortable and cosy. The staff is prompt and helpful. Everything is accessible from the hotel and breakfast was good.

I did mention it in my previous review as well that management should check on the room key card as it seem to never last more than 24 hours before having to be reprogrammed at reception.

I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, despite the renovations that were taking place. The good news is, phase one, which was the most disruptive is now complete - the front pool deck, with the new Panorama Bar is now open.

Phase two has commenced - which includes the addition of a Spa facility on the back pool deck - which will be completed by September.

I am sure that these additional facilities will enhance your experience during your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHENNAI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I happened to visit the TAFI convention held at durban on February 2013. Luckily we were provided accommodation in this hotel and we were truly impressed. This hotel has everything, beach facing view, central location, well kept rooms, house keeping is excellent and the staff behavior is professional enough. The breakfast and in room dining has a well designed menu for all kinds of travelers and it tastes good. Apart from the beach , there is a small market behind to shop the basic stuffs or to just walk around. This hotel has a medium sized pool on the top floor and if you are not willing to swim you can sit and enjoy the high speed winds flowing towards you. From the top floor the view is amazing and you will fall in love with Durban.

If you are a first time traveler or a frequent traveler - You Must Stay Here at this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach Facing Rooms for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKRAM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed your visit to Durban - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The location is great. Walking distance from the beach; neat, well maintained, sufficiently lit sorrounding area and landscaping to the beach. Spacious room with a personalised welcome note and a small gift making up for the smell of paint from the renovations.state of the art gym and a magnificent pool deck. Considering the size of the hotel, it is ridiculous to have only one guy as conciege, especially in the morning rush hour. The newly renovated bathroom needs some housekeeping attention especially on the floor corners. The night was a bit chili and I could not find an extra blanket. Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heerengracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay, enjoying the location and newly refurbished rooms and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I am never disappointed with the Elangeni Hotel, from the moment of arrival, to departure.

The Staff at this Hotel are most professional and welcoming - nothing is too much trouble. The new Grill at the Hotel serves the most delicious Steaks - perfectly aged and served.

The view from the rooms is the best in Durban, and the cleanliness cannot be faulted. The pending rooms upgrade will put the final touches to what is already a superb Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Rubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed the new facilities - we look forward to welcoming you back for your annual visit in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I read some of the negative comments about the rennovations at the Elangeni/Maharani Hotel and just a few reviews earlier that the buildings actually need upgrading.
It is a fact that one will never be able to satisfy everyone but the negative comments that focussed in on a very short period in the life of these hotels is very unfair. I have been staying at these two hotels - mainly the Elangeni - and have always found the staff more than friendly and helpful and professional. We were kept informed about the construction work to be undertaken at all times - I think that the fault lies with the Event management Company who didn't inform the group.
I am very excited about the upgrades done to the two hotels; the new and improved restaurants and look forward to always see the friendly faces of the staff when one arrives after a day of business appointments and traffic struggles.
The rooms are very comfortable - compared to some of the hotels I have had to stay in overseas - some rated as 4 & 5-star establiishments. It has everything that you require.
Thanks Elangeni & Maharani staff & management.

Room Tip: All sea-facing rooms have a wonderful view of the beachfront and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThaboCapeStFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your patience during the disruptive construction which recently took place.

I am delighted that the team make your feel part of the family - we look forward to welcoming you back to your "home" in Durban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing