We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much "curry"...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I just craved fresh ocean tasting prawns and there was none on site except...."curry" flavoured everything....
Oooohhhh & the "Omelette mixture" @ breakfast it's horrible...it just makes watershed-tasteless omelette...:-( ....yaack

Room Tip: Beach/Ocean facing rooms are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kele2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the quality of the egg mixture - your comment has been passed onto the Executive Chef.

The Lingela restaurant offers a Seafood Extravaganza on a Friday evening, with Grill Jichana offering grilled prawns from a Monday - Saturday night, in order to cater for guests who enjoy seafood.

Regards

Samantha Croft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you read many of my reviews you will find my constant pursuit of good service in the country of South Africa. Countrywide, it is something that is lacking. The Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani has found a way to rise above ordinary and average service going beyond what is expected to exceed expectations. From the arrival staff to the front desk to room service and dinning staff, your needs are taken into consideration and you are treated as a welcomed guest.
The location is one of the best in Durban. It is mostly sea facing and the beaches almost seem as thought they are part of the property. The breakfast buffet has lots a variety and caters to many different tastes including Halal.
I am looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Most restaurants are in the Elangeni side of the property. No spa on property but there is one on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shame F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and that the team exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at this hotel and have to say the location was great. The staff are friendly and helpful. The new pool area was lovely and it was nice to have breakfast in the new pool restaurant, but the hotel was busy so we had to que for a while to be seated. The rooms are tired and really could so with being freshened up, but they where comfortable. Good value and good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neenals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the new facilities on the Elangeni pool deck. The refurbishment programme started in 2012 - with the Maharani tower. The refurbishment of the bedrooms at the Elangeni tower is scheduled to commence in 2014.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We regularly pickup some of our clients form Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani and the staff at the reception is always so kind and friendly to us, we haven't seen much of the Hotel but the reception says "5 STAR" , very beautiful. Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for takling the time to post your review.

It truly is important to ensure that staff offer superior service to suppliers and tourism colleagues and not just resident guests.

I would like to meet with you when you next visit the hotel.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over a week and I must say it was the perfect location right in front of the beach with a market on Thursdays
We spent the first few days eating out then we discovered the buffet downstairs and it was very good
The breakfast was also a buffet style but we had it ordered at extra cost also and it was amongst the best we've had the rooms were good with a nice view however the price was not cheap or worth the quality of the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaykay786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the variety of food & beverage offering within the complex and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent a lovely couple of days here. Was a little concerned as its been years since I was in Durban and and heard that the beach front had become tacky and run down. Fears totally unfounded. The beach front is looking better than ever and its wonderful to see so many people using the parklands. The hotel is an old building but its still a gem. Again as with other TSOGO Sun hotels the service is impeccable. Totally recommend this hotel, you can spend twice as much, but you'd be mad to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the magnificent Promenade in Durban - the beachfront is truly a gem.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Durban and the Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I returned to this hotel after a deliberately long lapse. I am a business traveller requiring quality service and great facilities which SSME has now got down to the tee after the most recent revamp. Congratulations. The hotel has been restored to it's former glory and is a royal treat in every respect. Evidently, from my arrival to check out, staff had gone out of their way to attend to my needs but more importantly, show off just how great the hotel has become. Consistency seems to have filtered through to all staff levels and as a result my stay was magnificent. Charlotte, Lindani, Marc, Nomusa, Letitia deserve special commendation. I cannot wait to come back! If I continue to get this kind of service, I absolutely won't look elsewhere ever again and say to everyone, with the SSME in full swing, come to DBN.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaliaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It certainly was great to welcome you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani - I am delighted that the team exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#19 of 44 in Durban
638 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#23 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £108 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing