We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maharani is brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Maharani is brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Maharani is just great. I have just stayed there for 5 nights. I requested a room with a bath which I was duly given. The room was very spacious with great ameneties including a bar fridge and a lovely dressing table that has a fold out mirror, well done to the person who's idea that was.The room was spotlessly clean as well as the bathroom. Beds are very comfortable, great duvets and pillows. Bathrooms are also brilliant. The staff were amazing, especially the gentleman on the breakfast checking in desk. He greeted me by name every morning and knew exactly whom I was with. The breakfasts were fantastic, huge variety of fruits, cereals, and hot breakfast. The birchir muesli was the best I have ever had. The only downside is that as the merging of the two hotels is currently taking place there is no bar or restaurant, you have to o across to the Elangeni and the noise is a bit irritating, but other than that all was really great. We had dinner at the Grill House at the Elangeni, fabulous steak, excellent wine and service. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: My room was on the 7th floor, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the upgraded bedrooms. Steven is most certainly an asset to our organisation - we have passed your kind comments onto him, which he was pleased to receive.

Please accept my apology for no lunch or dinner option at the Maharani tower - we are currently renovating a restauarant area and will be launching a very exciting concept in December 2013. I am pleased that you had a superb experience at the new Grill Jichana and that the facilities across the complex enhanced your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    660
    239
    97
    68
See reviews for
536
341
50
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. The hotel is just front of the indian ocean.
But the price is so high comparing the quality of rooms. there is not even a fridge in the rooms. Employees are not very welcoming and service is very slow. I waited almost one hour just to get the invoice. The number of elevators is not enough. If you are in hurry in the morning you should get up a bit earlier not to miss the breakfast beause of the queue for the elevators.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced during your stay.

The current refurbishment programme includes the bedrooms at the Elangeni tower, which is scheduled to commence in 2014. During this programme, the bedrooms will be equipped with mini bar fridges.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Maharani in early October whilst on a business trip to Durban. The hotel is located right opposite the beach, adjacent to its sister hotel, the Elegani. The service at check in was attentive, although my room was not ready on arrival and I had to wait for almost an hour whilst several colleagues who arrived later were able to get their rooms immediately.
The rooms are clean and air conditioned, and all rooms faced the sea. I was on the 19th floor and had a great view along the coast. The shower was huge, with an overhead "rainfall" outlet. There were also tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The only thing to mention is that I would be cautious about coming with small children since the windows slide wide open and the ledge is not particularly high.
Although I didn't have dinner in the restaurant, I had breakfast there every day and the choice was excellent - a hot and cold buffet together with freshly cooked omelettes, pancakes and so on.
I would be happy to stay in this hotel again if visiting Durban.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheAviatorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back, when next in Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Good location on Durban Waterfront with fine ocean views. Good for conferences & business. Connected with sister hotel Elangeni where all the activity is, apart from breakfast Rooms well apportioned with fine ocean views. Wifi works well. Mixture of hot and cold water bit suspect! Breakfast good. Service very friendly and helpful. Spoilt a little bit by having work done and the pool on the top floor is disappointing.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable experience and enjoyed the enhanced facilities of the complex. The pool deck at Maharani is due to undergo a "facelift" in the near future. Unfortunately this area is subject to extreme weather conditions, such as wind. This area is generally utilised in season, weather permitting.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The newly-revamped Elangeni Hotel met all our expectations and more when we took a short break in Durban with the kids. The little ones loved the huge heated pool and the pool deck bar had a great choice of drinks and lunch snacks. It became our favourite hangout where we could relax and catch up with old friends!
Most importantly, the staff always wore a smile and were only too pleased to help, especially with the kids.
Well done Southern Sun, we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room if you can, the rear view isn't too pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the enhanced facilities on the pool deck at the Elangeni tower - these will be complimented by the upgrade to the back pool, which includes a Spa facility. This area will be completed by December 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I am a frequent visitor at this hotel and I can confirm that the service is seriously a problem. I have been told by the group CEO today that I am called the "Trouble Maker". The DSTV does not work, the breakfast is of concern, the new Ocean Restaurants uncomfortable with tables all right next to each other etc. The other problem the hotel I picked up was that the eggs been fried is fried in some kind of FAT not oil, the oil used is lumpy and white in color. I was told that when oil gets cold it turns this color. This is of major concern to halaal and vegetarian clients. Rooms are very old and believe me I found a cockroach, this is understandable for Durban. By the way a staff member not confirmed that the mixture used to fry eggs is fat, due to intimidation he does not want to be named. Avoid the lower floors the lifts are a mess.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ebrahim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The underlying strength of this hotel is the staff compliment who would go out of their way to assist. The food was scrumptious - the buffet was generous with a great assortment. The location is superb. The only downside was the construction linking the Elangeni and the Maharani, but a small inconvenience that will prove to be worth the while later.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay, despite the disruption caused by the construction (thank you for your patience).

I assure you that the new facilities will most definitely enhance your future stays - we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing