We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamped and lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Revamped and lovely”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The revamped and relaunched Elangeni/ Maharani is very Elegant and enjoys a great beachfront views in the not-so-crowded part of the Durban Golden Mile. It also is a welcome change from the now popular Durban North beaches. I have previously stayed in this complex on the Elangeni Tower , which I found very pleasant. This time, as a party with 7 rooms were allocatedvthe Maharani Tower. The rooms are well appointed, decor lovely and very clean. I was surprised to have no bath though.

Check in is advertised as 2pm and I arrived at 10am and efficiently had our luggage put in storage until the rooms were ready. Things did no go as planned as the room cleaning was very slow. The rooms were released in drips and drabs. By the time my last room was released at 17h30, I was royally annoyed. This dampened my regard for the otherwise great hotel , somewhat.

Room service is prompt and i recommend the Mini-bunny . Delicious .

Room Tip: All rooms sea-facing. The upper floors allow you to see forever and less likely to hear any street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse i nstandards from our housekeeping team, which resulted in your rooms not being ready on time.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the revamped bedrooms at the Maharani tower (we do have bedrooms with 4 piece bathrooms), although these are family rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    716
    267
    111
    81
See reviews for
621
366
58
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Exclusive settings and extremely helful staff are a joyous sight. The variety of food provided and the atmosphere are permanent reminder of a great holday at Elangeni. The extension of the access to Maharani is a great an noble idea.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Enos Ngutshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities as well as the breakfast offering at the newly combined Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani.

We look forward to welcoming oyu back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I will return and can highly recommend the Maharani hotel with confidence to anyone. The rooms are all spacious with stunning views. Breakfast has a variety to offer. This is suitable for family travel, couples and also corporate guests. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shegal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

execellent, very cosy, very high quality service, room was fresh, hospitality best. will recommend to all my friends who have family members that like travelling. Take family members on next trip to see locations





  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

generally the hotel met all my expectations....things requested were delivered to my room promptly. Parking is not allocated per room an can be a problem if u arrive late back to hotel as you will then be required to park on the roof of th eparking which is open. It was nice that you were able to use the Elangeni facilities as the pool area is very relaxing...Overall the stay met my expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jareena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the enhanced facilities on offer at the Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani complex and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We travelled there and stayed one night before moving up to the North coast. Was surprised at the excellent and classy finishes post the refurbishment after having stayed there a few years back. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Adil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the newly refurbished facilities and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Relatively big hotel, part of a chain, on the Durbs beach. Great location, easy to get to and fro. Lots of places to go in the neighbourhood.

Service at reception very friendly and efficient all in all. Some problems with their billing system (proof of payment we had sent a week before was lost, credit card deposit was "forgotten" when ordering room service), but the staff themselves were very helpful and qualified.

Rooms no surprise, well-kept and spacious enough when you're on business. Was there for a rather big conference, well organised, everything very professional. Food decent, good breakfast buffet. Very nice tables outside. Bar well-stocked, friendly staff.

All in all a clear recommendation as a conference venue and for business.

Room Tip: Hotel consists of two parts. Older part on the lower floors, newer part from higher up (don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with the billing system prior to your arrival. I am delighted that this did not mar your overall impression of the hotel and that you still had a memorable conference.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing