We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Food was fabulous! the service was the best i have had in SA for a long time, nothing was too much trouble.This is a perfect place to take your family.Everything is easily accesible. The kids had a blast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank HudaLockhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay - we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in 2014.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in early Jan. The hotel was like a busy supermarket. Breakfast queues for at least 30 min. Check in was smooth. The room was decent but for a revamped room still to have the shower in the bath is still stupid. With the hot weather I was surprised there was no fridge in the room. Breakfast was plentiful and fully Halaal. Location can't be faulted. You have to pay for parking , but on two occasions we came home late and there was no secure parking available and we had to park on the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The bedrooms at the Elangeni tower have not yet been refurbished, which is why they still have a shower in the bath.

As the complex is rather busy during season, we open up five different venues, which all serve breakfast - however, we are not a Halaal facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The rooms are very clean. Towels white,soft and clean. The breakfast was wonderful. The reception staff very professsional. Housekeeping tended to take long in responding to needs. But that does not take away the excellent environment at Elangeni.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Maks002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The rooms are beautiful, with a huge bathroom, king size bed, tv and tea/coffee tray and fridge. Views from the room are breathtaking. Breakfast buffet has everything to offer - food is delicious, fresh, and the service excellent.
The pooldeck is stunning with very efficient pool services, Although it is a big hotel, we were impressed by the efficient lifts, parking, and friendly staff. My first choice to stay in Durban, as the beach is only a step away.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor..stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the new facilities on offer at the Complex.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Durban soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions, however, the service recieved this time was shocking.
The bar fridge in the room was not working, the room was not made up on a few occassions. The days that the room was serviced, no replacement towels were provided.
I requested a change in room on a number of occassions, however, this request was declined all the time. I paid for undercover parking, at the full rate, yet, was denied access to the undercover basement.
I certainly would think twice before considering staying a the Elangeni again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Muhammad Anees H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the hotel not meeting your expectations. Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant managers in order for them to take the necessary corrective action.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The service was exellent. The room was very comfortable and the location was perfect. The best part was that of the neatness of the entrance hall and the good staff. The only bad experience I had was with the porter on checkout who was not that friendly.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ibrahim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the way in which the porter treated you upon departure. I would like to assure you that this is certainly not the standard that we pride ourselves on delivering. I am delighted that, despite this, you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Service- a friendly smile would have been nice to be recieved when entering the hotel,I did not feel welcome entering the hotel,As a client I did not have a welcoming experience in Elangeni,My room was not arranged as I have arranged,an my parking which I have book a few months prior was not arranged,as I was told I had to park in maharani,not impressed,Breakfast,goin to breakfast was a wait an them im told to go next door to go an eat as i might be waititng a while to eat,if i wanted to staty in Maharani,Room service,ordered sumthing which come to the room which is not what i wanted,towels,nto enough towels to accommodate all the guest,waiting period is 30minutes,my wife an kids go down to the reception area to order latte an cake,only to make them wait for 30 minutes an then to be told cant be served as they will be closing an need to served in plastic cups,my kids were very upset as they wanted the freshly cakes that were bake,that is def not making anyone feel welcome,I have come to Maharani which this year i thought i would stay at Elangeni,i would never want to stay at Elangeni ever as i not feel welcomed,where as Maharani the quality of service is at a high rate which makes u feel u on holiday an makes u feel like staying at that hotel over an over again.My room which was cleaned every day but def not to my satisfaction,for two hole days an ashtray was not cleaned but just left there for me to clean it,on Friday 10/01/2014 my room was not even cleaned by 13:40,which i had to complain to actually to be made up

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Irfaan Ahmed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Pleae accept my sincere apologies for the impression created that you were not welcome. This is most certainly not the impression that we wish to create.

With the amalgamation of the two icon hotels into one destination complex, the facilities of the Elangeni tower and Maharani tower are combined, in order to offer our guests a variety of choices. We had a choice of 5 venues for breakfast, in order to minimise the queues. The staff were merely offering an alternative to waiting for a table by offering you an alternative venue in which to dine.

During season, the housekeeping team balance the cleaning of occupied rooms with arrival rooms, to ensure that arrival rooms are ready for Guests at 14h00. Unfortunately, this does result in some occupied rooms being service late - however, all rooms are serviced by 16h00.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £79 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing