We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maharani” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Maharani”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Pool at The Maharani is not at all what I hoped , run down ,no service , no towels and very tired looking.
No parking or place to stop in front of the hptel upon arrival . I had to stop up in the street and walk down with my luggage , the first time i was offered assistance whas when i was in a very slow moving queue at check in. No welcome whatsoever. I had asked for a room with a view and got the worst room possible 2233 that has a concrete slab on the left where other rooms have windows and completely blocking the view to the noth coast , after asking for a room with a view a noticed that i was booked into the only verticlal line of rooms that do not have a view, the mornings I had to be at Client at 7 in the morning and had no breakfast because they only open at 7 not very accomodating for Buisiness . I do not have any idea why it is called the Maharani and Elangeni as the is a block of flats inbetween them and you have to walk down the street from one to another , the have absolutely nothing to do with one another .....I really did not enjoy my stay. I have a feeling that I would have enjoyed the Elangeni more as ther pool areas are very neat and accomodating with a Bar and dining facilities on the same floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank juls3773305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience during your stay. John Aritho, General Manager Maharani tower will be in touch with you in this regard.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    662
    239
    98
    68
See reviews for
538
343
50
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Business
The stay was great
The hotel staff was good, the meeting facilities where great. The meals at v&v were great and affordable. Your conferencing facilities was very great. The shower is spacious and

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tebogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the new dining facility V&V.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had an excellent single night stay at the Elangeni recently.

Location is fantastic, right on the beach front with easy access to the ocean promenade and all the various beachside activities. It's one of a number of big hotels along this strip and reputedly one of the better ones.

Our room, a standard double on the 15th floor, was large, clean and comfortable with a very modern bathroom and all the added touches you would expect from a hotel of this standard (A/C, fridge, safe, toiletries etc). The ocean view was unbelievably good.

A number of (no doubt) good dining options are available within the hotel but surprisingly few quality choices in the general area outside it. The Ocean Basket just down the road is probably the best choice if you don't fancy "eating in". The breakfast buffet is supurb, served in a room with a lovely outlook over the pool area. The only minor annoyance was the surprising absence of a toaster!

Highly recommended for a beach-side stay in Durban.

Room Tip: The upper floors have unbelievable good ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review

I am delighted thatyou had a great stay and enjoyed the new facilities. Toast is offered by the waitrons and served to the tables, however, we are in the process of reviewing this and placing a toaster with the health breads.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

thouroughly enjoyed it. nothing to report
the facilities were outstanding and i would love to get married at this venue
specifically the great Ilanga or the Sky Bar at Maharani hotel.
i will certainly go back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and would like to spend your very special day with us one day.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Other than the fact that the bathroom's sliding door could not close properly, I enjoyed my stay at Elangeni (as always). i hopr the bathroom sliding door at room 1104 should be fixed.The staff members that assisted when I checked in and checked out were very friendly and professional. Overall, a good hotel which also provide good food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVMthembu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for the feedack regarding the bathroom door - which has been passed onto our maintenance team.

I am delighted that this did not mar your overall impression of the hotel and that you had a great stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is undobtedly one of the best hotels, not only in Durban but in South Afrca. When i visit Durban for business it is almost a non-negotiable for me to stay in this hotel. Lovely location, good food

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank LuckyNtimane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that we are your first choice when in Durban and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had a truly great stay at the Elangeni Hotel.
We were personally welcomed by the manager on duty, who also showed us around the hotel. We managed to check in early (about 8am) and the service / hotel restaurants / bars were fantastic.
The rooms are a great size, have a fantastic view and are spotless.

However, upon check out we had quite an incident with this new manager on duty at around 6am on Saturday morning.
We were shouted at and disrespected.
The issue was regarding the airport shuttle.
As we came from the MSC Cruise all hotels, transfers and extras were prepaid and we received vouchers. When we checked in we showed all our vouchers and specifically requested they confirm our shuttle for the following day’s early pick up.
They said they would organise everything and an amount would be charged to our room which they will simply reverse when we check out and show the voucher again.
Upon check out the reception personnel on duty reversed the charge and we left, we were already on the shuttle to the airport when they called us back.
The manager on duty at about 6am (who we hadn’t seen before this point) came out and started shouting “we have to pay the R450” and threatening to deduct the fee from my credit card authorisation he had from check-in. He said they don’t use MSC shuttles and therefore we need to pay the costs etc. There was no real point to his argument and I eventually said to him that I can’t continue talking in circles because I am going to miss my flight.
The rest of the reception staff were embarrassed and apologetic.

I then chatted to the driver and he had all our details and the fee said N/A due to prepiad vouchers.
So I have no idea why this manager was having such a go at us.
Perhaps he feels he can take a chance and maybe some people just end up paying the extra money as they don’t want to miss their flights?

It was an embarrassment to a great hotel and guests as it was as if we were being accused of not paying for our transport.
In any respect, if there was an error it was the Elangeni Hotel’s fault and not ours as we showed all our vouchers (hotel and transfer) on check-in and everyone was well aware we had just come from the ship.

Other than this issue I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again provided I have no dealings with vouchers!

Thank you for making the rest of the stay a wonderful one, it was a pity it ended on that note.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am horrified at your experience upon departure and would really like to obtain more details in order to investigate this further. I would appreciate it if you could make contact with me on Samantha.croft@tsogosun.com.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#14 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, South African Hotels, HotelsClick and Southall Travel so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing