We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay with poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay with poor food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stay in this Hotel a lot and am I sorry to say that after numerous suggestions and complaints the same issues occur with every visit. The rooms are satisfactory but the room dining and breakfast quality of food and service is poor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 1mbjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in food standard experienced during your stay. I would like to obtain more detail in order to address this and would appreciate it if you could contact me on Samantha.Croft@tsogosun.com.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    716
    267
    111
    81
See reviews for
621
366
58
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very disappointing visit due to the substandard service and lack of care taken by the majority of the staff. A smile and some eye contact would be greatly appreciated for a start. I didnt appreciate the slow and tacky service all weekend. The Spa is a joke and the double bookings are a reflection of the terrible service, I made an appointment for 5pm a week in advance and after trying to appeal to that offensive manager was asked to come back at 11pm, is this realistic? The poor service seems to be a trend when just last week I left another hotel in this Group feeling disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the sub-standard service delivery that you received during your stay. I would like to obtain more detailed feedback and would appreciate it if you could contact me on Samantha.croft@tsogosun.com, which will enable me to take the necessary corrective action.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent service. Warm welcome. Friendly staff. Wish Breakfast was exclusively Halal like they did in 2012 and earlier. Rooms was confortable but pillows were uncomfortable. take you own pillows......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank MSGany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thanks you for taking the time to post your review.

Unfortunately our breakfast offering is not halaal, due to the presence of pork products - although our meat is purchased from a halaal certified supplier.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fantastic rooms with a view up and down the coast which is stunning. Right on the beach. We walked up the promenade and enjoyed the festive feeling. The breakfast was wonderful and filling. Great location


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Big5africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We keep coming back to the Southern Sun North Beach, now Maharani again, as my family loves the place. Location, view, room quality, breakfast quality and variety, halaal friendly all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel location is perfect,service is excellent and high standard and the reception staff and hotel staff are customer friend and ready to assist. My rating for this hotel is very good 10/10. Excellent!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thabiseng H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My main problem was that when u want return things you do not need the hotel refuses these things and you are then forced to pay for things you will not be using and it cuases an miss understanding. But some of your staff is friendly and keep up the good work

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nkosinathi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

In order for me to address your concern, please do contact me directly on Samantha.Croft@tsogosun.com.

I am delighted that despite this incident you had a great stay

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing