We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Reception is elegant and welcoming

The reception staff are helpful and welcoming

The rooms are classy and elegant, but the TV is too small.

Be early for breakfast but if you are late, it will be worth every second spent on the que.




  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kgotso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 2,024 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

I chose Maharani because I heard that the room upgrade was completed. However, in terms of Elangeni (where I stayed before), it seems like a downgrade - probably on par with its Garden Court heritage. The webpage did not describe the rooms properly and I ended up with two single beds in one room instead of two doubles. Also, no bath in the room. (Typical Garden Court) Ocean Breeze did mot mark their dishes, they apparently had queues for different ways to prepare eggs with no indication whatsoever. This prompted a visit to a person claiming to be the hotel manager who promised to address this. I avoided this breakfast room for the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experienced during your recent stay.
Your feedback regarding breakfast has been passed onto the food & beverage manager, for his immediate attention.

The rooms at the Maharani tower have been refurbished, with the Elangeni tower bedrooms to undergo their refurbishment towards the end of this year.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

hotel should be rated as a 3 Star or below

1. arrived at the hotel on the 1st may 2014 at 15:30,it took the front desk +- 30 to 45min to check myself and the family in
2. rooms book where sup double room, but got to the room it was double rooms,as front desk if i can see the sp double family room i was told i cannot.
3. Rooms to not get made on time,on the 3rd May 2014 my 3 x rooms where not done.
4. no clean towels and tolitries supplied and evertime i had to call housekeeping. and at one stage they put the phone down.
5. breakfast was not up to scratch,and they kept on ruuning out of stuff and took them +- 30min to 1 hour to re-fill.
6. security and housekeeping wgere rude, and at one stage i was not allowd to park my car.
7. they have a lady there that only apolgise,but they dont do anyting. i think she need training in HR .
8. hotel roooms had poo in the toilet, and toilets leaking , with a bad smell, and houskeeping tells me it all ok.
9. the safe in the room where not working correctly.
10. there is no life gaurd at the pools , and they had a near drowing at the pools.
11. there run out of beach towels,and had to fight with the fron desk to get me towels.
12. breakfast not up to standard, and stuff at the breakfast check-in are so rude.
13. lifts do not work when there is a power outage, so be carefull

Room Tip: Hilton but 1km from beach front, or stay outside off durban towards the north is up market
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apoloies for the lapse in service standards which you experienced during your recent stay. I would like to assure you that this is most certainly not the norm and your feedback has been shared with the management team, in order that they take the necessary corrective action.

Unfortunately we expereinced a power dip last weekend and although we have a generator, there is a five second delay in the switchover of power, which does affect the lifts. All lifts stop in the event of no power. A technician was on site within 10 minutes in order to reset all the lifts (none of which were occupied).

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Quick check in,spacious rooms (family) with more cupboard space than the maharani revamped rooms,although the bathrooms were smaller at elangeni with the shower in the bath tub.breakfast was great with a good variety of halaal cuisine.the conference centre was well located on the 1 floor offering great snacks as well.room service not to bad too! Will def return...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank mohamed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The bedrooms at the Elangeni have not yet been refurbished, which is why they still have a shower in the bath, which will be addressed during the refurbishment programme.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a good conference. We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The check in was good, however the bathroom was appalling with the new 1/2 shower door, the entire bathroom floods, an absolute unpleasant experience!! The door access card kept on cancelling which meant numerous trips down to reception to have it reset, My safe in my room did not work, So overall a really bad experiece at a cost of R4500 for 2 Nights, def not worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Yunus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced during your stay. Your feedback has been passed onto the respective management, in order for them to take the necessary corrective action.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is very well positioned and good value for money. Central to all beachfront amenities. It would appear that all the rooms are sea facing.
The only problem we encountered was parking onsite which need careful monitoring so that those who have booked parking, should have a bay available. House keeping also did not replenish shower gels, coffees etc. Management must ensure this is done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Logan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a pleasnat stay, despite the frustration caused by the limited on-site parking available. We are currently reviewing our parking process in order to streamline the offering.

We look forward to welcomingyou back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani in the near future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Location of the hotel is great. However during this visit the breakfast service was poor and the room quality was average. Elangeni next door seems a better option. Standards need to improve going fwd

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Poovanasen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced from the housekeeping and food & beverage teams during your stay. I would like to assure you that your feedback has been passed onto the respective managers in order that they take the necessary corrective action, to ensure that these are not repeated in the future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £70 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing