We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continue with your good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continue with your good service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was a best service I ever received. I liked the view to the sea. I liked the speed that was taken to receive ironning board. The food was a variety and it gives more choice for selecttion. The employees are welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Xolile M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    714
    264
    109
    81
See reviews for
617
364
58
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Situated on the beachfront we enjoyed our stay here. Spacious clean room,excellent service by the staff. Breakfast was lovely and offered wide variety of food there is also numerous take aways on the beachfront. Stayed on the 13th Floor , had a brilliant view of the beach - would go back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NizaamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and had an opportunity to explore the Durban beachfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klerksdorp
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Top notch.
We stayed in upgraded Maharani Tower. Big spacious rooms and bathrooms.
Top quality restaurants with a lot of options.
Beautiful Pool Decks. Especially the one on the 32nd floor where you can just pick up the phone and have a cold beer in your hands within minutes.
Friendly staff. All of them. Helpful and caring. No false smiles. Management are doing something right here as we could find no problems or complaints.
Fast and friendly check in and check out.
Fast inroom dining with top quality food.
Only place to stay in Durban. This hotel offers much more than you will need and everything is done with a smile.

We stayed for two days and returned a week later where we extended our stay to a weekend. When we walked in the second time the staff(from the quy greeting you in the street, the guard, the porter, front desk staff) everyone made us feel like we were walking back into our own homes. Very friendly place.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and that the team were welcoming and made you feel comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your hotel of choice when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed there during my visit to Durban for the Indaba Travel show. This hotel is clean, comfortable, and has amazing staff. I got room at the 26th floor. never have i seen a good view of the beach like i did in the Southern Sun Maharani wing. the location is safe. All in all, an amazing experience. no complaints.

Room Tip: Get rooms at the Maharani wing on either 25th Floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliraza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Durban and had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Food was great the beach view was the best every thing at the hotel was good I will always stay there and tell my family and friends to visit any southern sun hotels you guys are the best hope to see you soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank samiramin786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and will make us your hotel of choice when visiting Durban.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Check in tops....Rooms clean and neat...food is divine and what a friendly bunch. The last 20 odd years i have chosen this hotel......The location suits me for my business trips. I would not stay anywhere else

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that we are not your hotel of choice, but rather your home from home, when visiting Durban.

We look forward to welcoming you back "home" soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

You need a life guard for your heated pool to watch over the children whose parents dont care.
Your bedrooms bedrooms are too small - Room 706 surely is not for two persons. Small bed, 1 chair, 1 water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We do have a contract with Lifesaving SA for a lifeguard per swimming pool, however, this is for peak season and is standard practise for hotels.

Our rooms are divided into different classes, mainly due to size - with the smaller rooms being standard rooms. As water in Durban is safe to drink, one bottle is placed in the bathroom as a courtesy, irrespective of the number of occupants in the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani in the near future.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 43 in Durban
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing