We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and ocean views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

While at a conference my week long stay at this hotel was very pleasant. Views of the sunrising from my room (6th floor) were priceless, the breakfast is good with many options of fruit, breads and hot food. as well as being well located at the promenade, this hotel complex offers some great restaurants.
On the down side, the numerous staff seemed sometimes confused and though things got sorted simple requests could at times take longer than necessary. Also, our check in was delayed in a couple of hours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani_Waltrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to South Africa.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,962)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,428 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at the Maharani for a conference. After a long flight the view of the golden mile from my room was refreshing. Waking up and seeing the ocean every day made me feel like I was on vacation. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. I absolutely loved the room service meal options. Affordable and delicious. The hotel is very busy and seems to host many conferences but the staff manage it well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the beautiful view of the Indian Ocean from your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very friendly staff, always smilling and welcome Customers.
Excellent service on check in and check out.
Very rich morning breakfast.
Excellent location where from the window can observed the whole Durban Bay and smell the fresh sea breeze.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and the staff met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

i had a good stay at Elangeni. the hotel has a brilliant sea view and being in the 6th floor ai gazed at the beach view every morning and got extremely inspired.
the range of fruits and other food served for breakfast was mot delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the beautiful views of the Indian ocean from your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

These two properties offer unparalleled views of the oceanfront in Durban, and the sound of the surf is very soothing. The service was excellent, and the pillows were incredibly comfortable. We enjoyed meals in most of the restaurants and the breakfast buffets were both great. Be sure to take in the promenade along the beach front - lots of good people watching.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the promenade - undoubtedly one of Durban's best assets.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The booking process was flawed. Even though I made a concise request for inter-leading rooms I could not be assisted the first time around. I had to make numerous calls since my booking on 1 April up until the day before check-in to finally get the rooms configuration which I wanted. Room service needs to improve. We ordered the seafood basket which drenched in oil. The sandwich was rather small. Response times were slow as well. When I checked in I paid for parking & the tourism as requested to ensure that I would have a speedy checkout. This was not the case since the parking was loaded once again and had to be rectified resulting in me having to pay in a small amount which could not be removed from the system. The delay was more of a concern since I had to travel a fair distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Deepak R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards received during the booking process as well as during your stay.

Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant teams in order for them to take the necessary corrective steps to improve on this in the future.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

One would expect super service and modern deco with exceptional rooms when you pay a premium price. Elangani is certainly not a 4 star property but rather at most 3 star, the rooms are old, furniture is falling apart and rooms are really old, only nice thing is that there is a flat screen TV. Staff can take a lot much time to resolve problems. Lifts to the lower floors can be a major problem. Breakfast is well below standard with very little fruit selection if any. Maharani and Elangani have merged into one mega hotel this is a problem as the service is lacking. Disppointed.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors floor 11 upwards.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrahim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback.

As you are aware, the bedrooms at the Elangeni tower form part of the final phase of our refurbishment programme, which has not yet commenced. The bedrooms at the Maharani tower are larger and have been recently been refurbished.

The traditional english breakfast, which is offered in both towers offers a variety of hot and cold dishes.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £80 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing