We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elangeni”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Elangeni because of the view to the beach. It made the stay so much more relaxed. Although we were early and couldn't check in immediately, the staff made us welcome and when we did eventually check in we were advised we were being upgraded. Unfortunately, because we didn't know what sort of room we were getting in the first place the upgrade seemed a bit disappointing as our room was just a typical standard hotel room. The rooms are quite small but they were clean and comfortable. The restaurant is superb and we enjoyed 2 buffet dinner meals plus breakfast that we couldn't fault. The porter was friendly and very helpful. Our only real complaint would be the lifts - they take forever and we were only going to the 5th floor. It is a great location though and if and when we return we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the facilities and location of the hotel. We will be upgrading our low-rise lifts in the near future, as part of our refurbishment programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,479 - 1,485 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I use to stay at the Sun Coat Towers since it opened about 6 years ago and always received exceptional Service. That has unfortunately changed and as a result i have now started staying at the Maharani. I am pleased to say that management at the maharani most certainly value loyalty. Mario Ensured that everytng was exceptional and Made us feel most comfortable. Well done mario. I have also Ensured that all my clients will now also be booked at the maharani. Well done.

Regards
Zaffar khan
PRE 2035337

Room Tip: All Rooms are great especially higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaffarK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valued feedback.

I am delighted that Mario and the team make you feel welcome - your feedback has been passed onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you and your clients back to the Maharani tower.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of business trips and I used it for a Christian Family Enrichment Group Weekend Marriage Seminar in September 2012 and we were highly impressed with everything except for the small conference room allocated to us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tshepo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had a very good stay, good reception, room was neat and clean, location is very good (beach front). Parking in front of the hotel is very difficult with often a congestion. Will recoomend this hotel to friends and family.





  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Pumlani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Excellent service compared to the dailyr room rate.
Good internet connectivity, excellent breakfast. Location is excellent with a nice view on the sea.
Excellent restaurant with a buffet or à la carte offering a variety of foods.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanigui Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

love the view. A real different perspective of the Durban waterfront parade, which is fun to walk, cycle or run. View from Maharani even more spectacular. Some nice resturants also available in area. Chilled and relaxed atmosphere

Room Tip: sea facing.... and perhaps not too close to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and the location of the hotel.

The Promenade is definitely one of Durban's most prized assets.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

SS Elangeni-Maharani has always been a hoe for me since 2010. I have never thought of making any change in accommodation when in Durban. One feels at home, while also getting the sense that all employees connive to help you.

There is great value for money here

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Tebogo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you consider us your "home away from home" and your preferred choice when visiting Durban.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £68 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing