We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE "”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have seen a remarkable improvement and change in the service levels of this hotel over the past years - going from good to " EXCEPTIONAL "

What started off as a slight problem - was quickly addressed and resolved by some vital key management in the hotel - namely " Miss Portia Msomi " - Guest Service Manager - the manner in which you dealt with the matter was professional and exceptional service ( which is sometime difficult to find in Durban )

NB :- housekeeping staff , front desk and restaurants staff are wonderful - and " excellent " service offered ! The porters at the front main door go beyond the call of duty - by directing our aged parents to suitable underground secure parking - well done guys

To :- Samantha Croft and your management team - you have done an exceptional job in taking this hotel to another level - equal to some of the top international hotels in the world . You have made your mark ....Samantha ! Well Done !

You have made ours stay - a most memorable time ! Much appreciated !

Room Tip: All rooms are great - which beautiful sea views !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your feedback.

I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused upon arrival, I am pleased to hear that Portia and her team managed to resolve this to your satisfaction, ensuring that this did not negatively impact on your stay.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    714
    264
    109
    81
See reviews for
617
364
58
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel as my friends wedding reception was held at the same hotel , we were also recommended the hotel by family I have in South Africa , the wedding venue was excellent and the service from every one in the hotel was good , also really enjoyed the breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that we were able to create some good memories for you and your friends and their special occasion and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Elangeni for 7 nights during a conference in Durban. Conference facilities were excellent, well stocked rooms, comfortable, and excellent food quality and lots of it. Good A/V facilities. Venue was well located, right on the beach for early morning run, and 1/2 hour walk down the esplanade to Ushaka shopping village and aquarium and other attractions. We took the normal precautions you'd take in a big city and didn't experience any serious safety concerns or hassles.

All restaurants were very very good. The pool bar was a great venue overlooking the beach for drinks in the afternoon. Service was a little slow at the bar but the venue was fantastic. The Grill restaurant was fantastic value for money, the duck and the Wagyu steak are top notch. The breakfast buffet was very well stocked with a very large range of options, including very nice omelettes made to order at the buffet while you wait.

Rooms face the beach, some of the most comfortable hotel beds I've experienced, clean and pretty well maintained. I didn't turn the TV on once though so I can't comment on room entertainment package.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

All up an excellent place to stay and very good value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandhopper429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is great to receive feedback on the majority of our facilities as well as your experience within the City of Durban. I am delighted that you had a great trip and look forward to wlecoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed for two nights in Elangeni and it was a great experience. The food was nice and tastes good. I loved the view from my room. I could stare from there for hours especially in the morning. Or you could walk over to the beach which is 3 min away from the hotel to enjoy the fresh air from the ocean. The staffs particularly at the reception were very helpful and welcoming. However, I couldn’t plug in my phone charger nor laptop as the hotel doesn’t have the international plug type. It was a simple thing but a very important supply for the guest.

Room Tip: Beach side view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yared_Belete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valued feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the hotel not being able to supply you with an international adaptor - your feedback has been passed onto the front desk maanger, as these should be available upon request.

I am pleased that depsite this shortfall, you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The welcoming and check in/out was friendly and efficient. Room was of a high standard and beautiful seaview. Safe facilitie available. Cupboard was spacious. Hotel is situated in a peaceful and quite area. Being women alone I felt safe to go for an afternoon walk on the beach due to Security Guards visibility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Martie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and had time to experience the beautiful beachfront promenade.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Only stayed for one night at the Maharani. Had a great view from the room overlooking the beach. The room was comfortable and all the amenities were working. The breakfast was of good quality and the service was efficient. Check-in was a bit trying as my surname and another guest was the same, but it was sorted out. The building design is a bit tricky if you have a lot of luggage to bring in from vehicle parking into the hotel. What I could gather is that the GM is responsible for both Elangeni and Maharani and she is doing a great job with properties this size. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused upon arrival. I am delighted that this did not mar your overall impression of the hotel and you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangnei & Maharani when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Elangeni because of the view to the beach. It made the stay so much more relaxed. Although we were early and couldn't check in immediately, the staff made us welcome and when we did eventually check in we were advised we were being upgraded. Unfortunately, because we didn't know what sort of room we were getting in the first place the upgrade seemed a bit disappointing as our room was just a typical standard hotel room. The rooms are quite small but they were clean and comfortable. The restaurant is superb and we enjoyed 2 buffet dinner meals plus breakfast that we couldn't fault. The porter was friendly and very helpful. Our only real complaint would be the lifts - they take forever and we were only going to the 5th floor. It is a great location though and if and when we return we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the facilities and location of the hotel. We will be upgrading our low-rise lifts in the near future, as part of our refurbishment programme.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing