We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Elangeni” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay at Elangeni”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel was clean and tidy. Staff were courteous and polite. The hotel is well located and had a great view of the sea and beach. Easy to walk across road to beach. Would have preferred to have a walk-in shower instead of tub as bathroom space was limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David199942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and managed to spend time on our beautiful beach. The bedrooms at the Elangeni form part of the final phase of the refurbishment project, which includes and upgrade to the bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    662
    239
    98
    68
See reviews for
538
343
50
602
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First of all the positives:

Very impressive hotel complex in a fantastic location. Very tropical and lush setting especially during the rainy season. And a nice selection of restaurants within the hotel complex.
Breakfasts were good - you could choose between Vigour and Verve in the Maharani section or Ocean Breeze Restaurant on the second floor pool deck in the Elangeni. The breakfast spread was probably better at Ocean Breeze and the views are excellent - but Vigour and Verve was also very nice - somewhat more intimate and inviting. I would suggest trying both - you can't go wrong either way.

Rooms are standard but somewhat small. They have flat screen TV, the usual bathroom amenities and a kettle with tea/coffee, milk sachets and fridge with complimentary juice and water. The bed was really great - I like a hard flat bed and this was excellent.

For the negatives:

On checkin, I was not recognised as a TsogoSun Rewards member at reception, but more importantly was not given any information about the hotel facilities unless I asked for it. This included hotel parking and its location, breakfast options, hotel offerings etc.

More importantly, the room I was given had a huge concrete pillar blocking out the entire left half of the sea view so that I could only see the southern part of Marine Parade and the beachfront. If I had known this in advance I would have either ensured a different room or stayed elsewhere. When paying an average of R1800 per night one would expect to have a full sea view in this hotel - or at least be advised when reserving the room that there was an obstruction to the view. My room number was 2533.

What was particularly confusing was the day before my arrival, I was phoned and e-mailed by the hotel to confirm that I would be staying at the hotel. This despite the fact that I had already paid for the entire stay in advance. They also asked whether I needed parking for my car which I indicated that I did. However when I checked in, I still needed to enquire about parking and had to make the reservation for the car at that time so I don't understand the point of asking me to confirm this in advance. It was during this e-mail correspondence the day before I arrived that I specifically asked for a sea-facing room on a higher floor which is why it was so disappointing to be given a room which significantly obscured the entire left half of the sea view.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose room 2533 - be sure to check whether the huge concrete pillars housing the external li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the poor communication received from the reservations team. Your feedback has been passed onto our Web team, in order to ensure that guests who book via the web are aware of the partial sea view when booking this room type.

Whilst all reservations with deposits are considered guaranteed, during peak periods we do make contact with guests in order to confirm the reservations. The reservations team should however have passed all relevant information onto the front desk team, in order to streamline your arrival process.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Maharani was booked for our family holiday with much trepidation but what a fantastic surprise we got. The hotel's staff members were straight out of the top drawer and nothing was too much trouble - even Durban July tickets at the last minute. The renovation is a huge success and our rooms were very well appointed. Please use this hotel at every opportunity - I know we will.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that the Maharani exceeded your expectations and look forward to you making this tower your destination of choice when in Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Clean rooms and good views. Room service was good. Check-in was very poorly managed. We received our first room (interleading a suite) at 13h30 whilst the suite was being cleaned. The keys to the suite were withheld as we had apparently not paid for the room, this dispite a confirmed deposit being paid. I went down and paid the full amount. In room dining(first night) called to say that I needed to pay for the meal ordered, in cash downstairs. Second trip to front desk to enquire why no amount was taken off my card for incidentals when we checked in was met with a blank stare. On check out we were charged R800 for pool towels, luckily I had decided to read the invoice before paying and the cost was removed. The spa was a total farce and we had to get dressed and leave before things went even more wrong. Service was certainly not a strong point of this establishment and we will not be staying here again. Pity as it has such a proud history...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced during your stay. I would like to make contact with you to obtain more details in order that these can be addressed. Please could you contact me on Samantha.Croft@tsogosun.com.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arriving @the desk to check-in I was not greeted with a smile &she was chewing gum!She was annoyed with me I think.. on top of it she mentions in her language that we are annoying kids &I am an ADULT!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelleyvbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were treated upon arrival. Your feedback has been passed onto the front desk manager, in order for her to take the appropriate corrective action with the receptionist concerned.

I would like to assure you that this is most definitely not the standard that we pride ourselves on delivering.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bend
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed with our two boys (10 & 13). In general, most buildings in Durban seem very dated - I think Southern Sun is likely the best of the options. Loved the location - right across from the beach (lifeguards on duty), and boardwalk/golden mile (we rented bikes in the morning) - where there is a ton of activity (even a skateboard park). We were on the 12th floor and a nice view of the ocean. We felt very safe in this location. The hotel itself was also very nice - the only downsides were a very small room (but nicely done) and garage parking didn't seem to be serviced by elevator (we lugged our luggage down the stairs but of course could have driven around or gotten bellhop to take them). The heated pool was right next to the bar so you could either sit in or out and watch the kids swimming. The exercise facility was fairly nice (except weird leaky roof right as you entered with water being caught by buckets - not sure where it was coming from). We absolutely loved the Daruma (Japanese restaurant) where we could sit in front of the tappenyaki grill and watch our food being cooked - kids loved it and the food was very good. We also thought the breakfast buffet was also very good with omelette bar and wide variety of fruits, meats, pasteries, etc. We were only there for one night - for a longer visit, the small room may have been difficult for the four of us but for short stay, not a big deal. Beds/pillows were comfortable, bathroom was also a bit small but fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gocougsNorthBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that despite only spending one night, you managed to experience a number of our facilities at the hotel, as well as the promenade (which really is one of Durban's greatest assets).

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I checked in on the 30th of June with my partner. I requested an early checkin which was granted. The front dest was very professional as well as the porters. The room was very neat with a breath taking ocean view. Guys keep up the good work and I shall recommend this hotel to friends. In your Rates include Breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and will recommend us to your family and friends. Look out for our leisure rates on our website, as these usually include breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#14 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Southall Travel and HotelsClick so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing