We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tsogo sun Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I always stay at Tsogo Sun., either at Umhlanga or Elangeni.The stay is always great. Located very close to suncoast casino and entertainment world as well as the ICC. You will be spoilt for choice. I will sincerely endorse this hotel as being one of Durbans finest hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kamlesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The welcoming notes and chocolates made my day. The room was clean, bed well made and everything in order. Well serviced. I like the furniture man.The rooms are homely that you don't miss home. The sea facing rooms makes you wish to stay there longer. Supper and breakfast were the best meals and out of this world. Especially Supper. I hope that the room and bathroom was small, no space congested


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Maphefo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel was clean and tidy. Staff were courteous and polite. The hotel is well located and had a great view of the sea and beach. Easy to walk across road to beach. Would have preferred to have a walk-in shower instead of tub as bathroom space was limited.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank David199942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and managed to spend time on our beautiful beach. The bedrooms at the Elangeni form part of the final phase of the refurbishment project, which includes and upgrade to the bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First of all the positives:

Very impressive hotel complex in a fantastic location. Very tropical and lush setting especially during the rainy season. And a nice selection of restaurants within the hotel complex.
Breakfasts were good - you could choose between Vigour and Verve in the Maharani section or Ocean Breeze Restaurant on the second floor pool deck in the Elangeni. The breakfast spread was probably better at Ocean Breeze and the views are excellent - but Vigour and Verve was also very nice - somewhat more intimate and inviting. I would suggest trying both - you can't go wrong either way.

Rooms are standard but somewhat small. They have flat screen TV, the usual bathroom amenities and a kettle with tea/coffee, milk sachets and fridge with complimentary juice and water. The bed was really great - I like a hard flat bed and this was excellent.

For the negatives:

On checkin, I was not recognised as a TsogoSun Rewards member at reception, but more importantly was not given any information about the hotel facilities unless I asked for it. This included hotel parking and its location, breakfast options, hotel offerings etc.

More importantly, the room I was given had a huge concrete pillar blocking out the entire left half of the sea view so that I could only see the southern part of Marine Parade and the beachfront. If I had known this in advance I would have either ensured a different room or stayed elsewhere. When paying an average of R1800 per night one would expect to have a full sea view in this hotel - or at least be advised when reserving the room that there was an obstruction to the view. My room number was 2533.

What was particularly confusing was the day before my arrival, I was phoned and e-mailed by the hotel to confirm that I would be staying at the hotel. This despite the fact that I had already paid for the entire stay in advance. They also asked whether I needed parking for my car which I indicated that I did. However when I checked in, I still needed to enquire about parking and had to make the reservation for the car at that time so I don't understand the point of asking me to confirm this in advance. It was during this e-mail correspondence the day before I arrived that I specifically asked for a sea-facing room on a higher floor which is why it was so disappointing to be given a room which significantly obscured the entire left half of the sea view.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose room 2533 - be sure to check whether the huge concrete pillars housing the external li...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the poor communication received from the reservations team. Your feedback has been passed onto our Web team, in order to ensure that guests who book via the web are aware of the partial sea view when booking this room type.

Whilst all reservations with deposits are considered guaranteed, during peak periods we do make contact with guests in order to confirm the reservations. The reservations team should however have passed all relevant information onto the front desk team, in order to streamline your arrival process.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Maharani was booked for our family holiday with much trepidation but what a fantastic surprise we got. The hotel's staff members were straight out of the top drawer and nothing was too much trouble - even Durban July tickets at the last minute. The renovation is a huge success and our rooms were very well appointed. Please use this hotel at every opportunity - I know we will.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that the Maharani exceeded your expectations and look forward to you making this tower your destination of choice when in Durban.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Clean rooms and good views. Room service was good. Check-in was very poorly managed. We received our first room (interleading a suite) at 13h30 whilst the suite was being cleaned. The keys to the suite were withheld as we had apparently not paid for the room, this dispite a confirmed deposit being paid. I went down and paid the full amount. In room dining(first night) called to say that I needed to pay for the meal ordered, in cash downstairs. Second trip to front desk to enquire why no amount was taken off my card for incidentals when we checked in was met with a blank stare. On check out we were charged R800 for pool towels, luckily I had decided to read the invoice before paying and the cost was removed. The spa was a total farce and we had to get dressed and leave before things went even more wrong. Service was certainly not a strong point of this establishment and we will not be staying here again. Pity as it has such a proud history...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Jowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced during your stay. I would like to make contact with you to obtain more details in order that these can be addressed. Please could you contact me on Samantha.Croft@tsogosun.com.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Arriving @the desk to check-in I was not greeted with a smile &she was chewing gum!She was annoyed with me I think.. on top of it she mentions in her language that we are annoying kids &I am an ADULT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyvbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were treated upon arrival. Your feedback has been passed onto the front desk manager, in order for her to take the appropriate corrective action with the receptionist concerned.

I would like to assure you that this is most definitely not the standard that we pride ourselves on delivering.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garden Court South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: £79 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing