We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"good location and great views"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"good location and great views"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

stay here when i'm in Durban on business. the service is always good, friendly and efficient. rooms are average, however clean and comfortable.

the hotel restaurant and breakfast area have a huge spread to choose from, so watch not to over eat, as the food is really good!

there is parking outside and hotel parking which is convenient. the location is very central and the beach is just across the road for those wanting to take a walk or swim.

this last trip the hotel was hosting a musical tournament, which meant the hotel was full of high school children and was extremely noisy.

the hotel has free wi-fi too.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors as the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay, despite the noise caused by the group.

The bedrooms at the Elangeni tower form part of the final phase of the refurbishment programme, however, the bedrooms at the Maharani tower have already undergone a refurbishment, which you may find more comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    662
    240
    98
    68
See reviews for
538
344
50
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in the Maharani Hotel, which was recently refurbished. The hotel interior is very elegant and the room (Superior King on the 22nd floor) was very spacious and comfortable. A huge bed, plus a nice lounge area.
Amazing sea views from the wide, opening windows.
All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, the usual South African English breakfast spread and quite a good selection of breads. A nice touch was that special coffees (freshly made cappuccino, Americano and others) were included in the breakfast buffet. Many other hotels charge extra for these.
Durban itself was an eye-opener. This was my first leisure visit in many decades and the city was just amazing. The beachfront area is really safe and busy day and night. It was wonderful to go for very long walks along the boardwalk, just enjoying the relaxed lifestyle of this wonderful city. People were cycling, skateboarding, going for Rickshaw rides, swimming, fishing - everyone seemed to be having loads of fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank zaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that not only did you enjoy the upgrade of the Maharani tower, but also the improvements made to Durban as a City. Our promenade is truly superb and one of Durban's greatest assets.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Durban soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived early and after being asked to wait a few hours we were rewarded with a room with a view (19th floor). Staff were friendly and happy to assist with any request.
We thought the buffet was excellent, the food was fresh and very enjoyable. We also received a late checkout at no additional cost.
The location was good, with east walking distance to the beach and the walking areas.
Had a great tour of Durban arrange by the concierge (thank you)
Will use this hotel again when in Durban

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and managed to enjoy the facilities that Durban has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I always stay at Tsogo Sun., either at Umhlanga or Elangeni.The stay is always great. Located very close to suncoast casino and entertainment world as well as the ICC. You will be spoilt for choice. I will sincerely endorse this hotel as being one of Durbans finest hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kamlesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The welcoming notes and chocolates made my day. The room was clean, bed well made and everything in order. Well serviced. I like the furniture man.The rooms are homely that you don't miss home. The sea facing rooms makes you wish to stay there longer. Supper and breakfast were the best meals and out of this world. Especially Supper. I hope that the room and bathroom was small, no space congested


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maphefo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home" when you next visit Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel was clean and tidy. Staff were courteous and polite. The hotel is well located and had a great view of the sea and beach. Easy to walk across road to beach. Would have preferred to have a walk-in shower instead of tub as bathroom space was limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David199942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and managed to spend time on our beautiful beach. The bedrooms at the Elangeni form part of the final phase of the refurbishment project, which includes and upgrade to the bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

First of all the positives:

Very impressive hotel complex in a fantastic location. Very tropical and lush setting especially during the rainy season. And a nice selection of restaurants within the hotel complex.
Breakfasts were good - you could choose between Vigour and Verve in the Maharani section or Ocean Breeze Restaurant on the second floor pool deck in the Elangeni. The breakfast spread was probably better at Ocean Breeze and the views are excellent - but Vigour and Verve was also very nice - somewhat more intimate and inviting. I would suggest trying both - you can't go wrong either way.

Rooms are standard but somewhat small. They have flat screen TV, the usual bathroom amenities and a kettle with tea/coffee, milk sachets and fridge with complimentary juice and water. The bed was really great - I like a hard flat bed and this was excellent.

For the negatives:

On checkin, I was not recognised as a TsogoSun Rewards member at reception, but more importantly was not given any information about the hotel facilities unless I asked for it. This included hotel parking and its location, breakfast options, hotel offerings etc.

More importantly, the room I was given had a huge concrete pillar blocking out the entire left half of the sea view so that I could only see the southern part of Marine Parade and the beachfront. If I had known this in advance I would have either ensured a different room or stayed elsewhere. When paying an average of R1800 per night one would expect to have a full sea view in this hotel - or at least be advised when reserving the room that there was an obstruction to the view. My room number was 2533.

What was particularly confusing was the day before my arrival, I was phoned and e-mailed by the hotel to confirm that I would be staying at the hotel. This despite the fact that I had already paid for the entire stay in advance. They also asked whether I needed parking for my car which I indicated that I did. However when I checked in, I still needed to enquire about parking and had to make the reservation for the car at that time so I don't understand the point of asking me to confirm this in advance. It was during this e-mail correspondence the day before I arrived that I specifically asked for a sea-facing room on a higher floor which is why it was so disappointing to be given a room which significantly obscured the entire left half of the sea view.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose room 2533 - be sure to check whether the huge concrete pillars housing the external li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterCF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha_Croft, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the poor communication received from the reservations team. Your feedback has been passed onto our Web team, in order to ensure that guests who book via the web are aware of the partial sea view when booking this room type.

Whilst all reservations with deposits are considered guaranteed, during peak periods we do make contact with guests in order to confirm the reservations. The reservations team should however have passed all relevant information onto the front desk team, in order to streamline your arrival process.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#14 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Southall Travel and HotelsClick so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing