We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Return”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great Weekend will certainly return, would perhaps make it a bed & breakfast for the rate we paid, otherwise it makes it very expensive. But on the whole great service and very comfortable. I will certainly recommend it to friends

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Isabelduplooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    699
    261
    105
    78
See reviews for
595
362
57
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Summary
Great Location
Breakfast – food and options were great
Good service
Good clean rooms
Parking is an additional cost

Duration of my stay
My family (Wife 2 small kids 2 year old and 3month old daughters) checked in on for 5 nights (check-in Saturday 26 July 2014, check-out Thursday 31 July 2014).

Detail
General note
I previously wrote a review of the Elangeni about a year ago (August 2013), titled “Great location compromised by poor service and rooms”. We were really not happy with the Elangeni. The Elangeni and Maharani are considered to be the same hotel, as they are next to each other and you can use both hotels amenities. We did choose to stay at the Maharani, as the location suits us during our stays in Durban. I have to say our stays have been miles apart in terms of value, service and rooms.

Check-in/Check-out

My wife checked in for us, as we she was already in Durban with her parents, for a few days prior to us checking in the hotel. She said check –in was very friendly, quick and easy and she noted our requirements, which where all catered for by the time I got there.
Check out was really simple, it was done in lease than 2 minutes, which I was really impressed with. To be fair the hotel was very quiet during the duration of our stay.
A point to note is that parking at the hotel was at an additional cost of R50 per day. In my view If a hotel asks you for parking they state this upfront, this was not the case with the Maharani. It is worthwhile to note that we just used the public parking in front of the hotel, which was free, safe and easily available.

Location

Location is great, located at the heart of North beach on Durban’s “magnificent mile”. This was the primary reason we chose this hotel for our stay in Durban.

Rooms, Space and Facilities

We opted for a family room with 2 double beds. The room was comfortable spacious and clean. In addition the bathroom has a tub and shower, which was really helpful for us and the kids. There was really no fault with the room at all. The facilities at both hotsl are quite good and we made full use of the pools and deck areas.

Service and Breakfast

Service was generally very good, especially at the Maharani, when working in and out through the lobby, staff where always friendly courteous and willing to help, they were a little less friendly at the Elangeni.
We general had our breakfast at the Elangeni, as it was located at the pool deck and had a view of the beach, whereas the Maharani was a little less scenic. I would like to note that service at breakfast was excellent, with 2 specific individuals who really took the time out to ensure we where all well catered for, as well as make a genuine effort with the kids.
I truly would like to thank Samir and Dayalan, Samir who always walked us into breakfast and helped with the kids and made the experience that much more warm and Dayalan for getting a few sweet treats for our eldest daughter and also assisting with the kids. Thank you both.

Conclusion

Great location, great rooms, good service and good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased that you gave us another try (albeit the Maharani tower), and had a better experience.

The product does differ, although the staff do work between the the two towers.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 8 days for a conference and could definitely recommend it highly. Efficient, clean, walking distance from conference centre, staff very friendly with excellent breakfasts.
Big advantage staying on waterfront is you can swim in the ocean morning and evening without any big organization and enjoy the surging waves from your bedroom window all the time. The rooms were excellent also, superbly comfortable.

They also have a fitness centre and pool and poolside bar.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank risingstar700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a great stay during your conference and managed to enjoy the beautiful Indian Ocean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Durban when you next visit South Africa.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Being right on the beach front is fantastic. The beach area was beautifully renovated. with lots of joggers, cyclers and other people around, as well as the police presence through out the day and night, makes it a safe place to enjoy ourself.The hotel has also been renovated and we had a wonderful stay.
Visiting uShaka Marine World is a must!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have less street noise than other lower ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the beautiful promenade and Ushaka.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was my first visit to SA and Durban.
I had an overall pleasant experience as the Hotel Staff were very courteous and helpful. The food was good and the location excellent because my room faced Beach directly.
Proximity to interesting places too very good.
If you ever visit Durban, you may wish to consider Tsogo Sun - Maharani Tower...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Abimbolajayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed your time in Durban, whilst attending the conference.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Absolutely delightful, I will be sure to visit again & again. We checkin and recieved a warm reception and after specifying of the occassion being our anniversary, got to the room, to the surprise of champagne & chocolates. Staff were helpful and friendly and the facilities were awesome - Chris

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank NaidooC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and created some great memories.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I enjoyed every bit of my 1 week stay at Elangeni whilst attending the International Union of Architects conference in Durban. Very nice location by the beach, lovely ambience, very nice and courteous Staff, simple and functional room space, and ofcourse excellent meals (particularly breakfast and dinner). I hope to be back with the family later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the very top and with sea views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed attending the confernece in our beautiful City.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to South Africa.

Regards

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing