We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Just too much chaos.. Nice pool with a good view of the sea from the rooms

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pravinpednekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    714
    264
    109
    81
See reviews for
617
364
58
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

My spouse and I bokked the valentines package for the 13th.Included in the package was supper,breakfast the next morning and a valentine package which included a rose>chocolates,a bottle of champagne(for which I requested a bottle of Monis as I dont drink)and strawberries.The supper was okay as some of the food wasnt well cooked and the other thing that I didnt like was that the floor manager made no attempt to seat us downstairs yet there was ample space.finally a very nice gentleman organised us a place.The next morning we went down for breakfast and to our dismay and disappointment there was a mile long que,so we did not have the breakfast.The room was nice and clean and very comfortable but my question is why did we not receive what we were promised in the package?Is this a way of lurring people with false promises?

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swal786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vryheid
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed at the Hotel over Christmas. Check in was excellent, the guys at the reception were so friendly & helpful. The room was spotlessly clean though l would appreciate it more with a fridge. Breakfast was the best ever, will definately be coming back

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIZIWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2009

It was nice and clean and the staff was friendly. The view was ok (side view of ocean) and the beach was great. The area was dangerous though and scarey at night. Only go out in groups of 6 or more. Friends of ours were mugged and one was knocked out cold (a woman friend to boot). So would go to the hotel in another city, but not Durban.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salonroxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

great views of the beach from hotel rooms. All three restaurants great food. Taxi's right outside of hotel. Good service.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

The Southern Sun Elangeni's location is excellent.It has great views of the ocean and is very convenient to everything. I found it's Indian restaurant good but not great,as the portions were small. I enjoyed the swimming pool,and thought that the buffet breakfast was excellent.My room was impeccably clean but rather small. I can't say that that all the receptionists are honest.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africanman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Southern Sun is well located in the heart of the city and most of its room faces the sea. Its strategically located in terms of ease of getting conveyance, bakery stores, etc. The staff was very cordial

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDBGLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#16 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Marine Parade
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Property: Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing